You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The activists' anxiety... a big mistake

in #psychology5 years ago

Hi @spirajn

Wow, friend I feel very identified with you, I know what you say until recently, my wife and I were constantly fighting against a criminal regime, which you and I know very well. but to the point of putting our lives at risk just to defend the idea of "freedom" I still participate but in a very, very passive way, from the university I talk to my students and explain the difference between "being" and "it must be"

Sort:  

I agree. I think it's very important to understand that martyrdom is the worst way to change our reality. From my philosophical standpoint, life is the most greatest value and we should protect it as long as we can.

Of course, there are situations where our lives are so oppressed that the line dividing death from survival gets very thin, and then we could shift in values: dignity, rage and opposition could become in those moments more important than life itself (because anyway it is threatened, no matter what we do).

But most of the time, our lives are not like that. We can be prudent, wise and careful, and we should.

Our very haste blinds us, and can make us to perform (or support) real injustices at our part of the field. It's terrible when people against any injustice start committing injustices of their own; but sadly it's very common too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65266.27
ETH 2639.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84