You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What do you Expect to GET, if You Don't DO Anything?

in #psychology6 years ago

I want the world. Gimme! No, I don't need to do anything, that's why you all exist to do it for me. The state gives me my hand out each month :P

I dislike handouts/free lunches given on a regular basis, while people just go on with that and don't do things themselves to earn what they get. On Steem, someone told me a month ago that they were goign to need to go on welfare because they couldn't survive from steem alone... I told them to get a job, it's not up to others to pay for your survival, it's your responsibility. He didn't like that much :P

Sort:  

This post was partly inspired by someone's post earlier today, in which they were basically moaning and groaning about "having to do certain things" to collect welfare... and yes, much the same as you describe, this person was also having a small shit fit over the declining price of Steem and how he could no longer make enough money to live (while evidently NOT reporting it as "income" so he could still collect welfare) and would boo-hoo-hoo have to look for a part time job.

I have NO issue with appropriately given free lunches; say, a mother and her two young kids move out of a domestic abuse situation and need shelter and support. Hells, yeah. Food stamps for single parents who could otherwise ONLY support and feed their families by working 70 hours a week... shouldn't have to do that; shitty environment in which to raise kids.

But these are "temporary hands up," not invitations to entitlement and expected to get something for nothing.

I recently had to remove Steemit from my ongoing projects as a "viable source of income" and just move it over into the "hobby" pile. Only makes a difference to how much time I can spend doing this; other things will fill that gap. Not going to rage quit OR have an emotional meltdown over it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59263.92
ETH 2580.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46