Is Selfishness Good Or Bad?

in #psychology6 years ago

Being selfish does not make you a bad person, why would you value or protect someones live more than yours.

Ayn Rand

Ayn Rand rejects altruism, the view that self-sacrifice is the moral ideal. She argues that the ultimate moral value, for each human individual, is his or her own well-being. Since selfishness (as she understands it) is serious, rational, principled concern with one's own well-being, it turns out to be a prerequisite for the attainment of the ultimate moral value. For this reason, Rand believes that selfishness is a virtue.


During my Senior high School days, I had to help a lot of people during exams just to get a good name but I ended up getting bad terminal results.


I was the best Economist student in my class. it was exams time and I came in late to see my desk in the middle of the class surrounded by the people I love from my back to my front to my left to my right. They were all good people I will die for if the need be.


I started with my section b which involves answering questions and the section A which involves shading the right answer after reading the questions. After I was done with section b a friend at my back asked me to help her with hers which she had not written anything at all so I took her answering paper and gave her mine in case the invigilator will be checking. Whiles helping her with the answers a friend in front of me was also asking for help then also from my left-hand side an right. I did manage to help all seven students who seek for my help and while on that the invigilator said with a loud voice "5 minutes more". I was shocked and confused cause I thought it was left with 30minues to the end of the paper.


At that same time too I wanted to visit the washroom urgently so I asked the girl on my left to take me through the section A by just saying the answers then I shade. So she started and later mixed the answers up, meaning from question
4 to 40 were all wrong and at the same time, I urgently wanted to visit the washroom so I got pissed and shaded anything and after i presented my exams paper to the invigilator with everyone thinking I had finished first. I visited the washroom and later came back to realize everyone finished their paper except me. A girl mate asked me how did I see the paper which is a question they always ask me after any economist paper and I told her I didn't finish and she never believed me, but when she realized I was saying the truth she told me one thing I will never forget that "Love your Neighbour as yourself but not more than yourself" that was when I realized I should have finished my paper before caring for all my loved ones instead they all finished theirs and I did not.


So like Ayn Rand thinks, - The actor must always be the beneficiary of his action is true cause at the end I must value my education first cause there is a reason for me o be in school to learn, pass my exams and get a good result to make it all beneficial.

If you can’t take care of yourself, then you can’t care for others. Being selfish is critical.

Being selfish is not a bad act

Please write a post about The Virtue Of Selfishness

It's an ongoing contest.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post. I would love to see you study and explore more of the different virtues and ideas of Objectivism.

And please mention/link any source material you read. And quote anything you find particularly valuable so others can read it for themselfs.

Thanks very much @mughat
I will surely do that Thanks a lot.

you post? who knew
but the real question is, "What is Your Purpose?"
actually is a nice contest

YYou forgot to tag @mughat so he knows your essay is submitted :D

This is so cool now everyone in Ghana is going to be reading Virtues of Selfishness WOW and nice graphics for this ... i wanna say competition but its more of a writing exam pretty cool steem school is the best school on Earth!

Thanks bro @ackza
I thought I did?

I think that Being narrow minded does not make you an awful individual, for what reason would you esteem or secure someones live more than yours.
ps : i love what you do keep sharing

I don't see so much virtue in selfishness but i think, we offer other what we have, so we have to sort ourselves first, make sure you are fit before helping others. nice story you have there. your only mistake was helping others when you havent helped yourself first.

Read a book or an essay by Ayn Rand or another Objectivist and write an essay on what you have read/understood. If it's good I will give you a full upvote.

sir where do i get the book

pls how do i join the contest

Being selfish is not so good I think. But to be good neither is that good, I know, because in my whole life i have just be nice to others. So now I've finally learned to be selfish, but nice in the same way. So no i thinking of my self more than ever, and i like it. But i also very good and honest to other people. So this is what i have learnd from it is to be truly honest to your self and ask your friens if they think i am selfish in some moments, and if i are i change,,,

Yh sure
thanks

I am a war veteran and fighting for the freedom of other people is the most noble and unselfish thing I have done in my lifetime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56609.34
ETH 2990.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16