You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Subtle Fear of NOT Doing Something

in #psychology5 years ago

Nicely written! Fear is such an interesting emotion. I also wrote a post about it a few weeks ago. There is no recipe for a life without fear. And yes, it's often the reason for not doing something. So fear is something of a taboo. Certainly for men. We have equated fear with cowardice. What I am trying to do in the education of my own children is to learn from an early age that it is okay to be scared or angry. I sometimes hear parents say to their children that they don't have the right to cry or to get angry. Such emotions are often considered negative. It is a shame that we avoid them, that we do not want to talk about it. Everything starts in childhood. At a later age, it becomes more difficult to break behavior patterns. We have to break through the taboo surrounding fear, of the idea that fear equals cowardice. There will always be fear, but we can choose ourselves how we deal with it.

Sort:  

Well said @keysa, I fully agree. Emotional intelligence is such an important aspect of being human that modern day society seems to have lost touch with at some point. How I feel in relation to another - and being able to effectively communicate those feelings - is extremely important! As you said, it starts in childhood...and those same patterns (whether they are constructive or destructive) end up showing up in our leaders, politics, governing systems, etc. I pray that the leaders of the near future demonstrate authenticity, humility, and self-awareness. That's the kind of children I choose to raise and the type of world I choose to live in.

Amen to that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62858.15
ETH 3112.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90