Your Mind In Isolation

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Looks like Vsauce is going for a longer video format on Youtube in this documentary about subjecting the mind to isolation / chronic boredom. It mainly captures his own experiment living in a white-room of nothing for 3 days.

One of the strongest, most emotional sensations that we can experience is birth, or re-birth, which is something that's possibly felt during a near-death experience. A mind which is not stimulated is trapped with its own thoughts, probably just like a baby. Now imagine when the baby gets of the mother's womb, overwhelmed in light of so much information. The womb is just not the most exciting place to be in, just like being in a room devoid of any stimulation!

Which reminds me of isolation that happens during our waking hours, even though if we have a busy lifestyle. Some of us can even spend our lifetime in the busiest metropolises around the world and still remain lonely. Some of us build walls around us. I've been through that phase in my life when I just felt that people are all fake and pretentious.

Well I just grew out of that after knowing that I'm not in anybody else's shoes and it was an outward frustration, instead of something that can only be introspective.

I used to date someone who couldn't listen / speak and have always pondered about her narcissistic tendencies and addiction to social media. Maybe it's some sort of relief from social isolation after all. There's nothing wrong about wanting to fit in.

Writing this post, I was reminded that 2016 was the time when Steemit actually lifted me out of disillusionment, back in the day when I was stuck bored as a corporate zombie. Perhaps it's like discovering a new family on the Internet? I don't know, never been part of any online communities before this. All said, I'm glad to have found a good number of Steemians in which I can trust and have fun communicating with.

Anyway, enjoy the video!

Edit: Notifying @lpfaust (I think you'd be interested in the vid)


Follow me @kevinwong

Sort:  

This is the best show on YouTube Red thus far! Well worth the dollar per episode. (Or the subscription, if you live in the few countries that's available)

Didn't know there's a paid version for Youtube. Anyway..

Ah, whoops. Here I can purchase each episode for a dollar. Some of the later episodes are even better!

this is very interesting.. times of content-free living can sometimes feel like torture for many lol

the mind makes anything heaven or hell..

Thx for posting.

I want to be reborn as @knozaki2015, with the charming smile of @ned and the Steemit ninja skills of @kevinwong ... off to your video I go! ....

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Cheers mate thanks for posting and getting some perspectives on life, personally I saw the light in social media after taking part in Steemit :D almost completely stopped my spam of YouTubes, although I changed my "feed" to what's on here.

How about you, you were one of the guys that were doing quite well :)

Thanks for that just watched it, made my notes :) Very Interesting, some brain for thought :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60775.02
ETH 2656.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42