You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Boys Don't Cry: Emotional First-Aid and Gender Roles

in #psychology6 years ago

Wow. This whole article is excellent. The TED talk resonates especially because I have twin boys. They're 3, and emotional intelligence and resilliance is a priority for me. We also try to have toys typically given to either gender. (Okay, they don't have barbie dolls, but they love their kitchen and their stuffies, including the pink mermaid and purple unicorn.) There are no guns in their collection of toys, and I don't allow them to watch anything violent. It actually shocks me how "normal" violence and guns are, at very young ages, and how glorified it is.

Can we please stop normalizing war and killing, and instead normalize being compassionate human beings?

My experience with loneliness and self-doubt has been difficult my whole life. Changing my self-talk has been a multi-decade-long project, and I still struggle with rumination of events as early as age 5. Depression and anxiety have been challenges for me all my life, but with yoga, nature, and being persistent with positive thinking (and also letting myself feel deeply, letting emotions move), these issues are managed. Finding community and remembering I'm not alone has been a huge help with this as well.

I could go on, but I won't. Instead I'll thank you for this article. It's extremely important, and affects all of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52