You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language, Euphemism, and Distorted Definitions

in #psychology6 years ago

This is so important. Thank you for writing this! Deserves a hundred fucking dollars as far as I am concerned.

Language is power. Command of words. These labels help to shape, expand and/or limit thought. They shape and color our perception of reality often in imperceptible but profoundly important ways.

Words are tools by which we can shape and extract truth from our experience. As you imply, this reality is often weaponized against us in ever so subtle, truly insidious ways.

THANKS FOR THIS POST!

Sort:  

Wow, thank you, that means a lot. It's really important to me that I reach people and offer some value toward the goal of an enlightened society, and knowing a thinking man such as yourself believes the article can have that effect is very satisfying.

Hey, I checked out your YouTube, is that you there - Graham, is it? If so, it's very nice to meet you (well I suppose it's nice whether that's you or not Hahaha). I could count the number of people I know who understand this information on half a hand, so it's a great pleasure to encounter someone who shares this knowledge.

I watched your video on "Never interfere with your enemy..." and I really homed in on the idea that the immoral action as a mistake. I've often noted how to be morally "wrong" is to be incorrect; how the "sin" is a missing of the mark. But I've never thought about how letting it play out may be beneficial...

Obviously, there is a very thin line here, as immoral acts must be met with defensive action; however, consider the act of political protest... This is a rather ineffectual act of defense in the broad scope, but it clues the enemy in to the fact that they're approaching the line, and cues them to back off a little, devise ways to deceive you better, or screw you in a different way. This can actually aid the "tip-toe toward tyranny" effect, and do more harm than good in the long run.

There's more to uncover here. I have to think on this a bit... In any case, thanks for that, and of course the kind words and Steemit support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58