You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SELFISHNESS

in #psychology6 years ago

I think it's safe to say that my adult thinking life started with, or was very much inspired by, Rand. (So much so that you can see it in my name.) I've been wondering lately how much she and I would be in agreement on things, and where we now differ. Ethically, I think we'd be fairly close, as in, rational selfishness is the only moral choice. (It's the "rational" part - the question of what act brings more value - that becomes debatable.) And yet, evolutionary psychology, among other things, forces me to question some of her basic premises. (I often smile thinking about her mockery of Dr Floyd Ferris, and his books like, "Why Do We Think We Think", because I know I am reading similar books. I know it's mostly a criticism of Behaviorism, but a lot of evolutionary psychology could fit under the same title.)

Anyway, I'm currently releasing a series here - Reason and Emotion: The Children of Desire, which is pretty much an exploration of how I currently look at selfishness and ethics. If you have the time or interest, I'd love to hear what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42