You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 44 | Envy: An Unfortunate Facet of Human Nature

in #psychology6 years ago

Wow well like you reiterated, envy has never been known to be a stepping stone for an achievements by anyone ever in history and history itself has showcased that envy itself is a human negative attribute that must be blurted out just like in the case of Cain and Abel, Iago and Othello.
If you ask me I think envy some how is ill channeled, to me it's not good or something bad it's just what it is depending on how the human mind makes use of it, in other word, it's a weapon.
The woman Abigail William must have felt envy but it was as a result of the love she had felt for the man, she someone felt she was deserved of love just equally as Elizabeth and then resorted to other means to get it. My point is here envy could've propelled her to set out in life to achieve great things, it could've acted also as a motivation to her, but instead she made of envy what she wanted out of it just like history always have it.
I may be dead wrong, what do I know, but do you know the envy I felt towards people who are more successful than me has helped me stayed awake at night working harder on other to get by hard work what o wasn't freely entitled to or given and I felt I needed to have them?
In a nutshell I think envy will always be part of us, it's a human attribute that will always present itself I'm certain circumstances of our lives and how we deal with them totally matters a lot, else it's dark part (envy) may just take us down a certain conundrum that will completely take away our humanity.


Welcome back @abigail-dantes, hope you enjoyed your sabbatical? So wonderful to read again from you this rainy Saturday in my part of the world.
Sort:  

This is precisely what I tried to convey here my dear @josediccus :) 'the use of envy as a motivation', which I believe it can be done if we understand its neuropsychological mechanisms. Unfortunately, Abigail Williams wasn't equipped with the right values to do that.

I am so glad to hear about your very own account of envy! Thank you for sharing it here with us :) it illustrates the whole idea of how envy can also be a positive drive in life in a very real-life sense.

I did enjoy my mini-break! Thank you for asking.
I wish you good healthy & a relaxing weekend :*

Of course, sometimes history shouldn't be a defining factor in how envy generally affects life, positivity can also come out from things people consider generally bad and evil @abigail-dantes. Beautiful content you know I've learnt a greater deal from this. Thank you for the amazing feedback too.

Oh! I am so pleased to hear you liked this post, and that it brought you some new information :)

You take good care of yourself :*

This is a raining Friday in my own part of the world.👅👅

Meanwhile, I agree with you that if it is properly channeled, we can make something good out of envy. But is there not a difference between envy and Jealous?

I think that envy and jealousy can be used interchangeably, in colloquial language, when it comes to the discomfort towards the achievement of others. In psychological studies though, the word envy is the one always preferred by researchers to describe this feeling :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55