Can One Change One's Own Core Beliefs?

in #psychology8 years ago

It's a question to ask, especially if we under core beliefs to be our assumptions that we cannot fathom existing without. Something that when someone questions it evokes fight or flight in you. I'm not sure we can ever perfectly deduce our own core beliefs. And so further than that, if we CAN define our core beliefs (can we?), can we change them willfully?

Sort:  

Yes, and it is not necessary to perfectly deduce these core beliefs to change them.

It may be true to an extent, but the purpose of the inquiry would be the value gained if one could both IDENTIFY one's own core beliefs and purposefully/willfully change them. Without being able to identify them, I think it might not be as powerful, and might also prove quite difficult at least from the "useful" sense. By useful I am sort of suggesting we would favor PREDICTABLE change. And to predict the change, we might likely need to know what we are changing.

Over the last coupe of years I've gone through the process of more thoroughly defining my personal core beliefs. Up until this time I've always lived with "adopted" or "hereditary" core beliefs. I used to think I was altering my core beliefs, but I was actually only defining my own. One of the beliefs I'm trying to instill during this process is that I need to be willing to change my core beliefs when there comes a time someone shows me something worth changing for. There's no point in learning if you aren't willing to learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52