The Art of Not Giving A F*@k

in #psychology8 years ago (edited)

My friend David is a master of not giving a F*@K. He just does not care. If something doesn't go his way, he is on to the next thing. 

He doesn't beat himself up or worry excessively about what others think, he does what is right by him. He is a mastered this skill. 

It is such a valuable quality to be able to let go of things and move forward. Not dwell in a moment or hold on to what could have been. However, we are never taught exactly how to do that. 

We are not taught to not give a F*@K about what others think of us. We are taught to care. 

We are not taught that failure is okay. We are taught it should be avoided at all costs. 

We are not taught that things won't always work out the way we want them to. We are taught that if you try, you can make it happen. 

We are taught so many things growing up that slow our progression and limit our abilities to become the more authentic version of ourselves. 

But, this is not the case for my friend David. It did however take a near death experience to change the way he saw the world. He was involved in a bad car crash which he nearly lost his life. 

It took a life shaking moment to make this change in David. Before that he was like you or me, or anyone else taught to care too much. 

He described it perfectly to me the other day "I was limited by expectations that were handed down through generations, they had no relevance to my life, but they were lessons that were taught to me by someone who was none the wiser. They were not at fault. Ultimately I realised it was my duty to break them and to break down the walls of these fictional ideals that we all live by. I found freedom in what I am and that is why I don't give a F*@K"

David should rub off on all us.  


Sort:  

Oh to not give a s**t - wouldn't that be nice. My problem is I do own a marketing company so I have to watch everything I say and do because it can come back to haunt you..sucks

Well I'm sure sometimes you want to say F*@k You Pay me! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44