You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another One Bites the Dust, Vacation Brain and Other Late Night Musings

in #psychology6 years ago

no have you? of course you have! dang kids these days, that's all they DO! lol. No the closest we came to it in my adult life was flying out to Kansas to see my sister but that was a 2 day, hectic visit that was exhausting.

But where we are now is enough of a vacation to me at this time. It would be nice to be able to travel and there are so many wonderful places to visit and experience but you know..someday.

But I'm the only person I know who has never had a single paid day off in my life. because I've almost exclusively owned my own businesses or worked on the farm.

Sort:  

Haha, I try to take a vacation every year. I just find that it is so much fun to have something to plan and then look forward to. I gotta salute your work ethic, though. I don't think I could ever work that hard!

ha! I haven't even begun to tell you my work life, you probably wouldn't believe it, but I don't recommend it to anyone. I say do like you guys do, get out and see the country and enjoy yourselves!

Well if it’s anything like your level of activity on steemit I might not find it too hard to believe 😄

haha! yes well this is just playtime here on steemit, I don't really want to push it that hard like I could. well maybe sometime I'll take one week and push it hard to break some records or something.

Haha haven’t you already done that?

ha! well sir...I've spent too much time on the thing but it's been the best way to help grow my account so in that way it's been time well spent.
But no I haven't really pushed it nearly as hard as I could but that DID break some records accidently.

I wasn't trying or anything, I don't keep track of anything and never know where I am as far as stats, I just try to talk to as many people as I can in a meaningful way.
You don't seem to need such a thing though because you are steadily growing in rep and followers so it's different for each of us I think.

I've been more less self-employed since 1985, which means vacations have been a rarity. And usually a logistical nightmare to organize!

Few people realize that vacations COST more when you're self-employed. In my case, they have, at least... there's the cost of actually GOING, but there's also the "cost" of having to start ramping down a couple of weeks before you leave, and the "cost" it takes for the week or so it takes to get back up to speed after you've returned... AND the couple of weeks you're gone, your expenses continue, but you most likely have zero income to meet those expenses.

Anyway, I have never had a paid day off, either. Even when I worked for "companies" I was never there for long enough to get paid vacation days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50