The Light And The Dark Within All Of Us

in #psychology7 years ago

angels and demons.jpg

The Light And The Dark Within All Of Us



I was talking with a friend the other day who had some harsh words to say regarding someone that we both know.
The person that we know has done some things that are rather upsetting and my friend’s opinion is that he is a bad person.

My neurotic and analytical brain started to contemplate this.

I started thinking about the Tree of Life.
One side is Mercy, the other is Severity and the Middle Pillar is in between bringing balance.

3 pillars.jpg

Then I started thinking about Yin and Yang.
Two opposites that together create wholeness.
Duality coming together to complete something whole.

ying yang.png

All of us have masculine and feminine qualities.
All of us experience pain and pleasure
All of us have within us mercy and severity.
All of us have within us light and dark.

Sometimes we judge people and label them as “bad”, but I think it is important to remember that for the most part, people are not entirely all bad nor are they entirely all good.
We are a mix of light and dark, of mercy and severity, and the goal is to find balance.

Family, work and social situations often dictate that we must have relationships with people who we may not necessarily like.
It can be hard to function, especially as a sensitive person, around someone that we see as “bad”.

So, if I’m ever feeling like someone is a “bad” person, I like to step back and see them as a whole person and to look for the good in them.
Yes, some people are filled with more dark than light, but I believe there is some light in there.

man dark.jpg

I also believe there is a reason for their darkness.
Maybe they were abused or experienced some trauma in their life.
Maybe they are coming from a place of scarcity instead of abundance so they are in a constant mode of taking so that they feel like they have enough and it comes across as greed.
Maybe they have such low self esteem that they overcompensate for it and they come across as a selfish or arrogant person.
It could be a variety of factors that cause a person to come across as “bad”.

Also, if I ever feel like I don’t “like” someone, I try to understand why.
Sometimes we are seeing something in someone that we actually don’t like about ourselves.

The reverse is also true. Sometimes we put people up on a pedestal because we view them as “good”.
But everyone experiences dark emotions, even if only occasionally.

Nobody is an angel.
Nobody is completely evil.
We are all flawed.
We are all just human.

yin and yang hands.jpg

Sort:  

While I think it's true that we all have dark and light in us, and that those who are darker usually have a reason for it, I'm less inclined to say that they have an excuse to hurt others. I would hope they do have a reason, but if they are an adult, then they are also able to overcome and not pass it on to others.

Indeed, I agree.

This post received a 20% vote by @eternal.witness courtesy of @swelker101 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Yes! Wise words here, Isaria. Shadow work keeps us whole!

Thank you Uni! <3

Thank you for a great post, I like it!
I'm not a much spiritual guy but I do understand it psychologically. Carl Jung always spoke about accepting the inner "darkness" and that's one of the ways to release a lot of the stress.

Please check my new post, I think you will like it!
@paps

Fantastic post
Resteemed!

OMG thank you so much! The fact you liked it makes me happy :)
I followed you!

Followed you too!

So much truth in your post. Thanks for sharing x

Thank you Muxxy
I hope you are feeling better
<3

There would be no darkness without light. It all works together to make us the best version of ourselves. We have to learn to balance our own light and darkness! <3 Nice post @isaria

Thank you Clay
Striving for the balance.....
<3

i really identified with this. I believe its very important to remember. when i am in a situation as you describe i often list the bad without listing the good, even tho both exist. i don't believe in good/evil or heaven/hell as some people are want to label things. however the lessons of society, the propensity to judge, is a strong factor others have yet to break me of. lessons in how to quiet the internal critic.

I find that I do the same with myself too.
See that bad without recognizing the good....

lol thank you!

nobody is 100% perfect. there is no how we would not make mistakes

Absolutely

The only people that I have a real problem with are amoral people. People who do whatever they want without any thought for anyone but themself. Those are the people most likely to steal, lie, and cheat to get what they want, no matter who it hurts. Sociopaths. They make good politicians, because they don't care about anything except their power. My personal thought is that I feel that a sociopath has no soul, for them, everything is based on greed and power.
Most other people, you can always find something good about them, even when they're getting on your last nerve.
None of us are perfect. I have to keep reminding myself of that in some situations.

Very true

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78