ARE YOU FAMOUS? I DON'T THINK SO. Curled from Farrah Gray's Book "THE TRUTH SHALL MAKE YOU RICHsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

In interviewing a woman for a secretarial job, I asked her where she saw herself in the future. She said, "Oh, I see myself sitting in the front row of the Academy Awards waiting to get my golden statue!" I held my urge to laugh.


"Have you taken any acting classes?" I asked. She answered no. "Have you ever been in a play?" She answered no. This woman had no experience what so ever in acting (so presumably she didn't know whether or not she'd be good at it), and had nothing to look into the acting field. Yet she saw herself winning an Oscar. She merely wanted to be famous.


People often want to be famous without knowing what famous means. I am recognized every other day; it’s a regular occurrence, which might have you thinking I’m famous. I don’t see it that way. I have become a TV personality for being successful in my field – starting companies and motivating entrepreneurs. I’ve gotten endorsement deals for causes such as bone-marrow donation and homelessness. I’ve been invited to share my words of wisdom on shows like 20/20, Donny Deutsch’s The Big Idea, and Good Morning America. You may think my time on television and in the spotlight make me famous, but my so-called celebrity-dom was not a result of being on television – it came from my personal achievements as a man of business first and marketing myself and my ideas second. In other words, I earned the honor and respect I enjoy today from the public and media outlets after I already had pursued my passions and found my calling. If you are looking for respect and acclaims from others, you must get it from yourself first and then cultivate that success through your passions. You can’t have it the other way around.


Donald Trump became a television personality after he had become successful in business. Politicians become personalities after their success, which is what won them the votes. Ralph Laurence became a household name after he’d dabbled in fashion and tried to launch a line of clothing. People don’t get famous in an instant from an outside source. Lightning doesn’t strike them. They earn their fame and glory over time. They build and practice skill sets that shepherd in more and more opportunities. The fame and glory aren’t always fit for television, but nonetheless it offers a rich, fulfilling life.


It is my usual way to post what inspires me to achieve success daily. This post is one of them.
It will be my utmost pleasure to always have you here to share this with.
Please, be free to share your view of this post, as this gets me to know you're with me or not.

Cheers!
I am @isaaceko

Sort:  

Done resteem followed and upvote

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 2.26 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @isaaceko

Congratulations @isaaceko! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70