You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The "consequences" Of Being a Psychologist

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Oh, what a great idea to write an article about this subject!

I so much connected to the topic... especially to the cons of being a psychology. Actually, after my master degree and after two years working with schizophrenics I just needed a break from it all. Back then psychology took a lot from me. I needed my spontaneous behavior back, I needed badly to stop analyzing myself, my family, my boyfriend, my friends and everyone else. All my friends were colleagues and all we were talking about was psychological stuff. I needed a break. I needed my life back. I was simply exhausted :)

I joined Teach for Bulgaria community and met many amazing people with diverse backgrounds. In the beginning, it was extremely difficult for me to engage and connect with them, or in other words - with the "civilians" :D But slowly I became a normal person again :) Or close to a normal person :D

Anyway, now I am extremely careful with my friends and family. I never share my "psychological view". I need friends and family and cannot be a "psychologist" to them. Whenever I am asked about my professional opinion, I am very careful about what I am saying and always offer a colleague's contacts for a consultation :)

This is my way to cope with being a psychologist :D

Sort:  

I am glad you recognized yourself in some aspects of this article !

Being able to draw the line between your personal and professional life is a really hard thing to do and it often requires sacrifices. I am glad that you were able do draw yours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58