You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: For some RATIONAL beings, he behave IRRATIONALLY but at least we can PREDICT that

in #psychology8 years ago

Great read.

We humans try to keep our options open as much as possible: in our education, our careers and our choice of romantic partner.

So true. I even think this is one of the main reasons people are continuously less happy nowadays in the western culture and they try to fix it with having even more options which only makes the situation worse.

Sometimes I am a victim of this syndrome myself.

...bring along a friend who looks similar to you, only is slightly attractive.

I guess you meant "slightly less attractive".

Sort:  

Sometimes I am a victim of this syndrome myself.

Of course. I agree. But I don't think we can be otherwise because we are "designed" as continuously look for new options. When we were simple monkeys we just fulfilled our physical needs. After we passed the point of being self aware beings I think we lost the simple and calm mind. Partially is related to the desire to understand life, meaning and ourselves. We can't go back without some effort.

That's why I think we are always opened: we have the intrinsic urge to discover and to move on.

Thanks for the feedback. This, the feedback, I think is the most important part of any community. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59032.15
ETH 2518.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46