The theory of the shadow by carl jung

in #psychology8 years ago

I was thinking about the concept of the shadow that Carl Jung composed in the 1900s. Here is a quick definition of the shadow taken from wikipedia that describes the phenomenon nicely.

"In Jungian psychology, the shadow or "shadow aspect" may refer to (1) an unconscious aspect of the personality which the conscious ego does not identify in itself. Because one tends to reject or remain ignorant of the least desirable aspects of one's personality, the shadow is largely negative, or (2) the entirety of the unconscious, i.e., everything of which a person is not fully conscious"

I had an experience of the shadow first hand after taking large doses of LSD with a friend. As we sat there in an altered state of consciousness and pondered, he began to become more an more detached from his everyday reality and slip into something deeper. He was projecting his shadow on to me, as if I was plotting against him. His exact opposite in a way, I was representing his unconscious mind to himself. Everything I said could be twisted and was felt as a paradox relative to himself. This was an amazing phenomenon to watch in real time and really made me aware of the fact that a well integrated shadow is an integral part of self development and raising self awareness, left unhindered the shadow is projected on to other people unconsciously.

Sort:  

And right when I was bored of Steemit I read this!! Hell yea inkha.

Haha glad you liked it! I really like Jungs analytical psychology model it makes a lot of sense to me! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66