You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creativity and Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago

Great article. I found you through jbanfield's discord channel and I think this is the second time I'm finding an article of yours there that I want to recommend to him. Can't believe I didn't follow you before, but I am now.

I have to run, so I'll quickly say about the content of your post and final question that I think you're spot on when you say there is more that stimulates us now but that undermines our ability to focus the way creativity requires.

I see so many people who are full of ideas but short on results. I know that as a child I learned to be creative by first being bored a lot. We were poor and I didn't have many toys, plus had an anxiety disorder that made me not want to go out to play that much. So I I had to use my mind to keep myself entertained. And I've gone on to be a prolific creator starting in my teens with creating a summer camp for younger kids, including getting it funded.

I look forward to seeing more of your stuff, now in my feed.

Sort:  

Oh yeah I am on that discord!

It is true that being bored can spark creativity, when the only way to have fun is using our mind, it gets stronger and eventually it is easier to project those ideas into real life.

Thanks for your kinds words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66