Where the little monster sees the light - continuation of my BAD story+original digital art

in #psychology7 years ago

Hi, guys!:)

I decided to use this little monster I drew a few months ago as an illustration for this post, cause it seems to me that he really reflects what's going on with me at the moment. So, it's a continuation of my BAD struggling story.

Five day ago I said that I changed my psychiatrist, and now I'm receiving different type of medication. Now I already can make some first conclusions from the process, and since I decided to keep this topic updated I will write a few notes about it.

It's quite had for me to describe in English what exactly do the pills do (I mean that I'm not going to write titles for obvious reason, and to tell it in other words correctly you probably have to know English much better then me or to be a native speaker), but in general there are three types of them: antidepressants, sleeping pills and mood stabilizer. Healing of bipolar disorder looks different from healing pure depression, you need the last ones to control  the episodes of hypo-mania. As the doctor explained the sleeping disorder is not something I actually have, so sleeping pills are not exactly sleeping pills, they just help my brain to function normally.

Antidepressants work on a standard scheme being serotonin reuptake inhibitors (I hope I formulated this correctly). That's quite easy if to say it in simple words: you have enough serotonin - you're happy, you don't have enough - you're not. In depressions episodes it seems to me like I had no at all (unlikely, of course, but it feels like this). Important moment here is that if you actually have enough serotonin (so you just feel sad, not depressed) - antidepressants will not work.

First thing that I noticed when I started taking my new pills was side effects. Yep, they have quite a lot of them, and I'm lucky that I got myself only the most popular ones. First of all - I fee thirsty all the time. Yes, now I'm able to sleep at night, but I wake up to drink some water anyway:) Hope it'll change soon at least it have to change. When I complained my mom at it she said "Just don't wash them down with cognac, dear":) Well, I didn't. But still feel thirsty. Second - most part of the day I feel a bit sick. But this also should pass by.

At the moment the first week of medication already passed, and I already noticed some pleasant effects. At least I no longer lye in bed for all day in close-to-suicidal thoughts. By the way BAD patients have a higher rating of suicides then the ones with pure depression. The reason is pretty simple. A patient with depression falls in it from the "middle", normal state, while in case with bipolar disorder he appears there from the state of hypo-mania (or pure mania, luckily it's not my case).

Do I feel better? Damn, yes! And it's awesome to finally feel some good emotions again. All the side effects worth it. In the end I must remind you that I'm not a doctor, I'm just sharing my own experience. I think I will keep this topic updated, after all - it's my blog and I'm free to share my life in it. 

May be I'll add a few more important words here. Surprisingly, but even today, in 2017 a lot of people prefer to suffer in silence then to go to the doctor with their problems. Earlier it was quite understandable, but at the moment you can receive help anonymously, Don't neglect this opportunity if you need it.

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Hey ,
Thanks for the great content.

Nice spam

Hey Inber, stay hydrated and don't ever suffer in silence! I love your don't do list too. :D

Pity that a lot of people don't read it and just continue spamming:(

Sorry to hear you are having some issues Inber, hopefully it will work itself out in time for you. Do the medications effect your concentration or ability to have clear thought - like for your creative drawings?

Love the purple monster by the way :-)

No, they actually don't affect concentration, so I'm able to draw, to drive, well, to do all the every day actions. As I understand such disorders don't pass with time, one just have to learn how to live with it, and I did it pretty well for last 15 years or so, it's just the time and possibility has came to work with it. Sometimes people even never take it to the doctor, after all it's the type of illness that mostly makes the person who is ill suffer, not people surrounding him/her (well, of course the closest ones often feel that it's not OK, but too often they just can't understand what exactly is wrong).

That is good to hear you manage it well. I know it can effect different people in different ways.

You're absolutely right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57958.96
ETH 2283.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46