Preparation for my mandala creative practice - I had no guess that will be so hard

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Hi, guys!:)

Yesterday I said that my therapist recommended me to practice drawing in circles, and gave mandalas as an example. The essence of the practice is pretty simple: you take a piece of paper, draw a circle, then fill it with anything you wish. Not really hard, yep? 

Image credit

Mandala is a classic example of circle harmonious drawing, so she gave me this as an example I can follow, but not nessesary.

Damn, I had no idea it will be that hard!

First of all I felt tired even before I started. I refused with all fibers of my soul, I wished to go to bed and have some nap, play a bit, do yoga - anything except of what's needed. At the moment I'm  still only preparing.

When my doc knew that I'm an artist she said that it will be better for me to buy some already ready coloring book, so that my "professional deformation" wouldn't take part in the process. But yesterday it was too late to buy something like that, and the only opened books market had no such coloring books. OK, then I have to manage myself.

Of course I'd prefer to create geometrical patterns in digital art. But since I'll have no possibility to break it off if needed it's not the solution, I have to do everything with traditional mediums. Plus I was forbidden to use markers. Because of too saturated colors. Well, I doubt that it counts copics, they're not that acid and saturated, they're really natural.

For my first attempt I chose watercolor, but already I doubt that I'll enjoy it. It's really hard for me to refuse any expectations from the drawings and take them as a therapy. Of course I use drawing as a therapy all the time, but until I'm not doing it knowingly - it's OK. And now it's not OK.

Anyway I hope soon I'll be able to share my first attempts, thank you for reading;)

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I really like the illustration picture with the mandala stones. I need to find such stones and try it out :-)

Interesting reading your article because earlier today I just created my first doodle mandala (as an entry for the sticky art contest :) you can see my post on my blog if interested ) I never really did it before but I liked the process. I didn't really have a concrete idea in the beginning but then I just drew some regular structure and filled out the spaces in different shapes, and then it came all from alone without thinking and I forgot about the time, and at the end I realized that I completely had disconnected and I did unconsciously some kind of mediation with this exercise. I liked the experience :)
Simply doodling on a blank page is difficult for me, I need some structure, and this worked here quite well, I might be repeating it in the future if I want to have some "disconnection" :)

Thanks for sharing the recommendations given to you. I'll try it out next time starting from the outer circle :)

Good luck to you on your way to find what best fits you!

I hope I also will be able to find this experience:) I'm still stuck:)

Is that some oppositional defiance there? XD Maybe try it on pebbles like in your lead image?

Hope you're able to settle into something soon :)

goatsig

I have no pebbles:( I live in a huge city with no sea:(

Do you have aquarium shops nearby? The ones around here sell river stones for tanks, not sure how good they are to paint on as I've never tried, but maybe something to look into?

goatsig

Wonderful post my friend i upvoted this post please check my account and upvote if you loved somthing...

You inspired me to do some of these myself. Using digital medium.

I know you'll show to us your amazing drawing :))

I'm still stuck with this:) If I had attitude to this as to a drawing it would be 100 times finished. But since I know it's therapy - urrrgh:(

yeah we do mandalas at work too....its relaxing....but to me its frustrating and hard lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65