You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fan Death - A Curious Superstition

in #psychology7 years ago

It's a strange reading for me. Fan death is a strangest superstition for me because in our country, Pakistan, fans have been the saviors during hot summers for decades now. Air conditioners and coolers are becoming popular now but fans exist. But fan death superstition doesn't exist despite the country being full of other kinds of superstitions.

The only case of fan death I can recall was the girl in my neighborhood who touched a fan when the electricity was absent. The moment the electric power was back, she got electric shock and died. Something wrong with the volage or something.

I think the main reason of death in case of all supposed fan deaths must be a disease or undetected medical condition. Otherwise, saying that fan caused the death is equivalent to saying that the room caused that death because the person was sleeping in that room.

Nice to read about this strange concept though.

Sort:  

Yes in fact fans probably do save lives.

The only case of fan death I can recall was the girl in my neighborhood who touched a fan when the electricity was absent.

Wow I had another person reporting the same thing with someone being electrocuted by a fan. That is quite worrying. I wonder how common this is.

Sudden surge of electric current coupled with poor saftey measures does kill people. It's quite common.

I'm assuming there is no earthing in those cases because that is the main eventuality that it protects against.

The problem is with earthing and the overall saftey measures are weak as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80