The problem with mindset

in #psychology6 years ago


Mindset  has become popular by coaches, counsellors and consultants alike but are we just giving people more quick fixes and band aides that mask the real issues?

img

There is much inner exploration that needs to happen to shift limiting beliefs and gain a strong sense of self. This does not happen if the person supporting is telling the individual seeking personal growth what to do or by reading affirmations!

The thing about coaching is anyone can call themselves a coach as it is not mandatory to get training or get credentialed to hang up a tile and say your coach. It is up to the person hiring a coach to ensure the coach has a coaching credential that credential means the coach was properly educated on how to coach! International Coach Federation  

Coaching is a very powerful process and one needs to be educated on how to hold a safe space so the person they are coaching can find their own answers.  I can tell a mile away if someone is a properly trained and credentialed coach by what they are doing with an individual because if they are telling a person what to do that is Consulting not Coaching! A trained coach knows the difference.  

A person seeking personal growth needs a safe space and guidance to self so they find their own answers through self exploration! It is not the support person giving the answers! 

Coaching is not therapy and properly trained coaches know this. 

A coach knows the client has the answers to what will bring them aligned with self to achieve what matters most to them.  The client has the answers not the coach.  The coach is the support caring compassionate holding the safe space for the client to do the work .

 No disrespect to Therapy or therapists as everyone has what works for them however for me therapy only brought me back to very traumatic events in my life and re-traumatized me.

With coaching I was at my pace I was the lead no model was used on me and it was focused on my strengths I got incredible shifts and healing I did the work.  I was ready and the coach was skilled not giving me advice! A foundation of trust was built so I felt safe for the first time in my life

I can’t and don’t speak for others I can speak for me though and that is how I healed years of depression, anxiety and suicidal ideation

I lifted a deep dark hole and it was me who did it through the coaching process and I will forever be grateful for it! Now I give back.

The challenge i see is that many can’t and can cause more harm than good unfortunately I have had many reach out to me telling me their stories about how they were coached and the people coaching them crossed many lines that caused harm. These were people not educated on how to support people safely for as you know people seeking help are often very vulnerable.  I do support formal coach training and getting a credential if a person is going to call themself “a coach” for it means that the individual invested themselves in learning how to coach and not cross lines that cause harm. 

Having said that I strongly believe in transparency and it is important for both parties entering into a relationship where one is a support person that their is a clarity conversation about what service is being given and details about how that looks so they can have a safety agreement on how they will be proceeding for the best interest of the support person and the person they are supporting .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55