Constant Distraction is a Psychological Prison

[Forest Spirit Nuhlimkilaka, "bringer of confusion".]

Sometimes, between the never ending glasses of iced coffee and checking the news for updates

on multiple crisises threatening to unfold to wreak havoc on the world, I feel the fabric of the psychological walls that keep me bound to this spot.

Not a physical spot, but a psychological one where I can't and won't take action because I am torn between constantly changing objectives that the tv and the internet tell me I must focus on now.

Ebola, Avian Flu, Zika: these things weigh constantly on my mind like wet newspapers layered and layered until I can no longer escape.

Will Yellowstone National Park explode with the force of hundreds of atomic bombs and wave a tail of toxic gas across the continents until we are all dead?

The economy is always perpetually about to come crashing down around me. I can't think to invest when everything is so uncertain.

And even still, I know I'm a lucky one. Blessed by early life poverty, I am not attracted to the consumerist culture that seeks to deprive me of my last penny.

What's on TV?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54034.48
ETH 2262.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31