THE FEAR FROM WITHIN

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

There's no shortage of threats in this world. At this point in our history, more than ever before, the world is a very scary place.

I would like to offer some ways of understanding and handling the FEAR that many people will need to come to terms with as we move through this period of transition.

In my last post I mentioned that I recently "awoke" to the realization of just how scary a place this world totally is. It honestly turned my insides upside down and shook me to the core. To put it bluntly I was terrified. I would wake up in the early hours of the morning wanting to leap out of my own skin to escape the FEAR I was feeling. My whole body was gripped by panic, my pulse pounded, my stomach was tied in knots.

During the day it was not much better, slipping just below consciousness, it simmered only slightly suppressed beneath the surface, leaving me constantly feeling anxious and unsettled. My mind ran blindly from one frightening possibility to the next, seeking the best cause for my unmitigated dis-ease. I wondered if it was some sort of premonition? Was there a pending disaster just out of sight, poised to smash my world apart?

But at some point these questions made me realize something kind of interesting; although there was no shortage of options, the fact is I did not know what exactly I was afraid of. The FEAR was not being inspired by any particular threat. In fact, it preceded them. So it wasn't what I was worrying about that held me so tightly in its grip, clearly FEAR itself was the problem.

Realizing this actually provided a small degree of comfort. It meant I wasn't (necessarily) afraid of any THING. I was safe, and my microcosm was, at least at that moment, unscathed by any of the threats I was dreading. I could honestly see that THERE WAS NOTHING TO FEAR BUT FEAR ITSELF.

Disassociating FEAR from an external object also made me recognize that, if what I was feeling wasn't connected to an external force, then it must come from inside me. It belonged to me. So projecting it on anyone or anything is actually giving that object a part of myself, my energy, my emotion. In this way you are empowering the very thing you are most afraid of having power...especially afraid of it having power over you. At the same time you are forfeiting any control that you have over, essentially, a part of yourself.

When we attribute our FEAR to someone else, it becomes locked in that FEARFUL state, enabling them to use it against us.

Once you've recognized that it is actually part of you,you can regain control over it to some degree or another. TBH idk to what degree this can actually affect your physical circumstances, but I suspect the impact could be HUGE. But what I do know beyond a doubt, is that the impact it has on our experience of physical reality IS HUGE. No matter what difficulties you're currently facing, whatever you're afraid of is one thing. Your FEAR of it is another. Maybe you don't have control over the problem, but you do have some control over how much you feed it.

At this point there is a second technique that I'd like to share which I've found to be incredibly powerful.When I accepted the FEAR as my own, it became possible for me to transform it. To accomplish this it is important to recognize that FEAR is just a particular expression of your emotional energy. The energy, in general, is generic. Our minds play a role in which specific emotions are expressed. FEAR and GRATITUDE are two very different expressions of emotion, that are, in fact, intricately linked together. The connection may not seem obvious at first, but, so often what we FEAR most is losing what we love most, what we're most grateful that we have. So it's only a slight shift of perspective to refocus the energy from FEAR of losing what you love into how grateful you are to have it. Making this shift can transform the emotion you are feeling as FEAR into feelings of GRATITUDE.

You just need to get your head in the right place. Gratitude is a powerful force when it comes to our emotional wellbeing.

But being thoroughly human myself, I'll admit there were times that this trick was not so easy to pull off. At one point, I was struggling with feelings of FEAR, trying my best to make this shift. I decided it would be a good idea to listen to a "gratitude meditation" I found on YouTube. Turned out to consist of a long litany of everything we could possibly feel grateful for. As I said, FEAR and GRATITUDE are bound together. As the list went on, I felt like the guy was just naming one by one all the things I was terrified of losing!

So, for those times I could not get my head in the right place, I relied on a meditation designed to shift perception. I found it to be effective when nothing else worked.

Sergio Magana is a mystic and teacher of secrets of ancient Mexican tradition. I won't go into why I feel this meditation works so well in this post. It's a subject of some depth that I will be broaching in the near future.

I want to put this post out there now in case others are experiencing this process of integrating FEAR, which can be quite difficult. I'm hoping these concepts and techniques could be of help.

I would love to know if anyone else went through or is going through this experience. I would also love input of other methods for dealing with FEAR that you've found to be effective.

It is part of a much larger process that humanity is moving through. That is something I will write of in my next post. Till then, once again, I hope to hear from you soon...


Sort:  

Wonderful writing, fascinating subject and I could definitely talk to you philosophically from personal battles with fear, trauma and anxiety. There is life after breakdowns and breakthroughs. I will probably always deal with anxiety but how we cope with it makes a world of difference. Thank you for sharing such thoughtful and vibrant posts. Looking forward to reading more. XOXO

I think when we're born, we're whole and perfect. Childhood trauma shatters the wholeness and makes a mess. As an adult we either continue in the broken pattern of childhood, or learn to heal ourselves.
And to heal our demons we have to try and make friends with them;)

Thanks so much for your comment. It really is very much appreciated. I'll look forward to future discussions.

Cheers

I couldn't agree more but I also think we could carry other memories from other incarnations of past lives I really do believe some of us choose this soul journey to learn compassion and expand our consciousness. You are welcome and thank you for sharing!! Looking forward! xoxo

Yess! Not memories exactly-at least mine aren't. I believe in an evolving soul that has experienced many, many lifetimes. And it stands to reason that, to our soul, the flash-in-the-pan that we call our lives, has a much broader context. Our humble mortality isn't nearly as significant as it seems at the time.
No doubt if we understood that, our lives would make a lot more sense then they do.<3

you are speaking to my deepest most profound experience of life and I am beyond grateful. Thank you!!

Congratulations @heretolisten! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74