You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Applying Short Term Solutions to Long Term Problems-- and How Such an Approach Dooms Us

in #psychology7 years ago

I can dig it. Someone pointed out to me though Steemit is still a popularity contest. You aren't paid on quality of content but your level of popularity. It's still hands down better than Facebook.

Sort:  

In essence, ALL social media is a popularity contest... I believe the new and improved term for it is that it's the "Attention Economy." But at least we're following a pattern of giving here... and you have a choice to give your upvote to someone whose work you genuinely like, not just someone "popular."

Goes far beyond that for majority of sites. A lot of it is just bot views. Twitter, Facebook, and even YouTube. I’m sure some of these companies making a killing on “adjusting” their algorithm to priority large international corporations.

The difference between USA and EU trending on YouTube is utter shocking. I’m sure people love music videos and movie trailers done by Hollywood but oh boy least give them a few million views first before propping them up YouTube!

I would not be shocked if majority of the “big” sites where only in top ranking due to bot and other fake traffic.

Oh, I've seen "mystery spikes" in the views on some of my other blogs... and it's almost certainly bot related, even though not initiated by me.

I just don't care, I'm a HUMAN using the SOCIAL Internet.

I had some small spikes on old blogs. Then I realized it was in top search results for whatever reason. People where in fact finding it off google. It’s often made me wonder if someone used it as part of a research paper and enjar is somewhere in a citation line on a paper lol. Then it fell off the rankings and I don't think its gotten a single view since.

Yes indeed. It is more advantageous. Getting that popularity can seem harder than high school though but like I told one of my followers, to me it's just fun. The lack of ads on Steemit are the real reason I enjoy, more than the payouts and all that jazz.

Really is the only way to go about Steemit. Have fun, make friends, and learn new things!

Far too many people focus on what the top 1% is doing. I never view myself as a top 1% in anything so it does not concern me much what they do. Granted a few of them really are great hard working people who have earned it. Then there are some question marks but those people usually don’t last long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85