You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shame and disordered eating

in #psychology6 years ago

We all have struggles. I hope you do well with yours.

How well do you do with rice? What about flat bread? Maybe you could wraps of various types to slowly move you into more carbs. You can easily make black bean burgers with rice. There are a ton of recipes for them. You can also put rice and beans with all sorts of different flavors and spices in wraps.

Good luck. <3

Sort:  

I have been okay with white rice and quinoa. Other grains have not gone over well. I am allergic to gluten, so that's a piece of it. Corn, soy and most legumes are also a no go because they fog up my brain among other reasons. I tried to eat more bread today, but it just feels stuck in my throat. I think because it's a gluten free blend, it probably has one or more grains I just can't tolerate. Feeling a bit bummed by this because it's the first day I've come close to hitting my carb goal, but you're right that rice is easy to work into things. I'll make some ahead so I have an easy carb source. That and some bananas. :)

Bread is likely too large of a steep to take right away. Don't push yourself so hard you get discouraged.

What legumes do you have trouble with other than soy? Soy is a pretty common one that many have found out they have trouble with recently.

With legumes, everything but peanuts. I can eat green beans, although they are a pod. I think that just rice is probably plenty right now. I still feel like I’m choking from the bread I ate earlier.

That...really sucks. I don't envy you. I love beans of all types.

I hope you can overcome this problem and find a diet that you can settle into easily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52