Slowing the noggin-vortex

in #psychology6 years ago

I'm feeling a little wrinkly...No, it's not old age creeping up on me and starting to show on my face; I mean inside. I am going through a period of feeling flat, uninspired and a little drained emotionally. It's common among humans to feel this way of course, just not so much with me; I'm usually able to turn these things around before they go this far. Not this time though.

I'm not sure what it means...Does the way I feel confirm that I am, in actual fact, human? Probably. I had hoped I was from another planet but maybe I'm a boring, run-of-the-mill human after all.

So, this wrinkly feeling I have...Why is it so? What has caused it and why can't I shake it? All good questions I guess and ones I have been asking for a couple of days. Asking myself.

The image here is one of me ironing the wrinkles out of a work shirt. Yes, I know, impressive that I know how to iron right? Anyway, wouldn't it be nice if we had the ability to run a hot iron over our brain to straighten out the thoughts whizzing around in there? I mean, pushing a hot iron around in ones' noggin has got to be good for you right?

Well, I'm not so sure. But how do we make sense of all the things buzzing around in there? How do we slow the spinning noggin-vortex of life-stuff enough to pluck one out and deal with it? How, indeed, do we deal with just one thing when usually each one is linked intrinsically with one, or more, of the others. It's a complex matter and when these things start to collide and crash into each other a couple of small things can spiral out of control into a destructive twister of challenges that spins so fast it's difficult to even see one from the other.

I think that's where I am at the moment; Standing outside of my head looking at an impossibly fast spinning noggin-vortex of life-stuff that seems simply too difficult to straighten out. It's also complicated enough that just thinking about it brings a feeling of hopelessness and despair in respect of beginning the task of unravelling the mess. It's left me feeling quite uninspired.

I had a chat with a friend this morning who made me feel a little better. She gave me an attitude adjustment which I needed and she actually quoted me (back to me) by saying I needed to take a breath, stand back and just evaluate where I am, (emotionally), where I've been recently and where I want to be in the future. How can I argue with my own advice? That's what I like about positive thinkers and influencers...They don't necessarily offer solutions, only reminders of how to come around to my own deductions and ultimate decisions. They don't offer unsolicited advice on what they would do, only the necessary support when it comes to finding the impetus to take the first step towards a better future.

I know I can't mope around being wrinkly for the rest of my life, and nor do I want to. But unfortunately I cannot just iron them out like a shirt. I have to take an active role in working through how I feel, the reasons why I feel this way and put some measures in place to assist in preventing it again in the future. I have to take responsibility and ownership for myself.

The trick is slowing the noggin-vortex enough to isolate and identify something I can affect. There's no point worrying about something I cannot impact and so I need to control the controllable things, address, deal with and shelve them before reaching for the next. Evaluating (like my clever young friend suggested) is important also as often in doing so one can identify a big rock and by eliminating, or dealing with it first, can slow or diminish the noggin-vortex even further. It's a process of isolate, identify, evaluate and effect which is going to move me forward.

So, I better get to work slowing the noggin-vortex right now. It's been good writing this post as it's allowed me to go back over what I already know, the concept of evaluation, ownership and responsibility and therefore brings clarity of thought. I'd like to thank my friend who offered and deployed an attitude adjustment also as that's sometimes exactly what's required. Thanks for being a great influencer. :)

Sort:  

I've been having a bit of struggles off and on the last few months, and had a little flair up this evening. This is going to sound really corny, but my son's bedtime story that he picked out tonight was Dr. Suess' Oh the Places You'll Go, and it made me feel a lot better. It just outlines in a vague way all the adult problems, and it was a nice reminder that none of us are exempt, and that it is real work that gets you back where you want to be.

If only we could just iron out the problems. That would be so much easier than the process of digging oneself out of a hole.

Btw, it's awesome that you can iron :)

Not to be immodest but I am the business-shirt ironing-NINJA! :)

Just saying, no big deal.

#ironingninja

Ha! I can iron a decent business skirt...but I'm no ninja.

Maybe you are and have not earned your ironing-ninja qualifications yet? It's quote simple...Test yourself on a business shirt, I suggest and easy one, and then if you feel you have done a good job simply proclaim yourself an ironing-ninja!

#ninjalife

Hi @ginnyannette Yes, we are all fallible and feel the noggin-vortex spinning in our heads at times. It's what makes us human I suppose.

I haven't read a lot of Dr. Seuss really, as a kid I guess I did, but they seem like distant memories. It's great that you could find some value in such a simple act as reading to your son though. Isn't it interesting how we can find value from such random sources?

I hope your noggin-vortex slows enough for you to work on it...

It is somewhat shocking you can iron :))

I'm glad to hear you're slowly finding your way :)

I have many hidden talents...

You got a 18.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp!

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.232 which ranks you at #2700 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 43 places in the last three days (old rank 2743).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 284 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04