You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Big Boys Don't Cry: Emotional First-Aid and Gender Roles

in #psychology6 years ago

This is one of the best posts I've read so far on Steemit. As a mother of an almost 4 year old It affects me a lot. It's really hard to go against society. Even if you give your best in raising them, what they see in school and everywhere else affects their perception. For example, I've never been so "pink is for girls, and blue is for boys" but my son cries when someone gives him something pink complaining that pink is only for girls. That is something he got from somewhere else. Didn't really think about it in an emotional perspective. Emotional intelligence is so important specially for toddlers. Every time my son gets upset, I tell him it ok to get mad, what is not ok is to hurt others or to stay stuck in that emotion, we are humans, it's ok to go through all the emotions, but we need to learn to let go and continue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44