Mini Motivation #7 - How would you define success?

in #psychology6 years ago

source

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.”
                                                      ― Winston S. Churchill

Success, how do we define success....for most people success is equivalent to earning loads and loads of money and living a luxurious life with all creature comforts available to the mankind. The situation wherein ones desires are met without much thinking about the financial burden. 

But if you ask people who fit the conventional definition of a successful individual, many will tell you that those achievements aren't what make them feel accomplished.

While success for some people is proportional to peace of mind, well settled kids , happy family, healthy living etc etc etc. 

Now you guys are thinking thats right too, don't we all know that ? Both these points are exactly what we think when we think of success.Most think like that but whats practical ? 

While a common mans definition of a successful life is

  • Study well and top your class
  • Get into a good college and learn Engineering or be a doctor
  • Get good high paying job
  • Get married to beautiful bride
  • Buy a 2 BHK house 
  • Have kids
  • Raise those kids well, let them settle down comfortable (Same as above)
  • Then retire and play with your grand children
  • AND......Die

While a Girl is told to exactly the same as above than except getting a high paying Job,

Seems really simple doesn't it!!!

Not exactly, by now a few must have realised that all of above is based on external factors, ie we equate our success to factors which are extrinsic to us and not intrinsic to us. We define our life by amount of external achievements and not by happiness generated. 

DO YOU GUYS AGREE!!!!

One who is just looking outwards and never ever looks inwards cannot be at peace , and whats the use of such achievers who are not at peace with themselves. No matter how high you go up in life, we are never satisfied. 

I feel success should be such that it not provides Peace and happiness to the individual who achieves it but also benefits the society in whole. Greatness can be achieved only when success is equated with peace and happiness, that will allow us to grow as humans and take us to new heights.

Isn't being civilised all about that?


Mini Motivation is a daily strategy to inspire myself, I learnt from @maverickfoo. Many Thanks to him I have started writing regularly, he is my true inspiration now. 

This series is one thing which allows me to motivate myself not only to write but to start my day on a write foot, motivated. #gratitude #motivation #belief

Hope its of some help to you guys too.....

Your comments are most welcome, they will certainly inspire me in a right direction and yes upvotes are a great motivation too. #passonthelove

Cheers





Sort:  

You got a 0.86% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @free-ion!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

For me success will be feeling the excitement and joy in whatever I do. To be proud that whatever I may be doing I keep getting the same excitement irrelevant of the money I make. I am someone who believe that several years down the line if I am telling my story to someone and I can say that I have no regrets about anything I will say I was successful.

Well said and perfect understanding of success, you are blessed, buddy. Not many people are aware what success is.​ Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60646.47
ETH 3379.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51