Empathy: Why People Pull Away When You Give Advice?

in #psychology5 years ago

Just because I give you advice, it doesn’t mean I know more than you.

Being empathetic gives me the ability to sense and understand other people's emotions, coupled with the ability to imagine what someone else might be thinking or feeling so It is natural for me to give advice because I like to help the person to move forward.

However, when I do, it happens that people feel judged and distance themselves.

I’ve been in pain, I know what it feels like. I have compassion and understanding, so when I see that someone is suffering or is experiencing something that I have already went through, it is natural for me, wanting to help and share what I learned from my past experiences.

It confused me the fact that some people pulled away when I gave advice and I could not understand the reason until a wonderful person helped me to clarify this situation.

We all have our own timing and it rarely helpful to give advice without asking for permission because someone may not be ready to receive the message and the person can feel attacked or judged.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Awesome post . Stay strong brother.
Your awesome.
Have an awesome day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks brother.
have agreat day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04