You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Terminal Depression - be a survivor!

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Thanks for your post @lizelle! Depression is such a widespread condition and, even in 2018, many of the afflicted still feel shame or embarrassment for talking about it. It’s so important for more people to be open to discussing it. I appreciate the kind words about my book!

Sort:  

That is exactly the problem, people do still feel kind of ashamed to talk about this, as if it's a kind of weakness! I will never forget what someone said to me all those years ago when I said I have no reason to be depressed so could not understand it, and she simply said 'but you do have a reason, your brain chemistry is all messed up'. So is that something to be ashamed of? Diabetics often have low sugar reactions and they act weird, but we accept that as normal, yet we are ashamed to admit that we are suffering from depression!
I must thank you @ericvancewalton for getting me back on track with meditating, I really enjoy working through your book, such a treasure! Great idea to have the note pages, I went looking for a notepad then realised there's no need for that plus the beauty of it is that the notes can't get lost.
Thank you from the bottom of my heart!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56