You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 48 | Groups & The Individual

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

I welcome the mention of systemics in your article. Definitely the Orient and Occident have their tendencies and it fascinates me again and again how to look at them in a general way. The collective characteristics of the Japanese or other Asian peoples are truly not to be overlooked, at least they have cultural-historical meaning and left their imprints, bad and good. It seems to me to be an almost impossible feat to master to unite the helpful and extremely intelligent systems of both cultures.

It is in the diversity and unusualness that there is a challenge and an opportunity. There, as you say, what we recognize as equal in the other is easier for us to accept. To approach the foreign without prejudice is a lifelong practice in which we have to exercise more or less.

We all know that we are all part of the realities that connect us to other people instead of existing in a vacuum.

It sometimes saddens me that I myself as well as others do have in times the impression to be in a vacuum.

After completing my systematic training, I thought, "Oh, my goodness, how little I knew and how complex human communities are in which we want to understand each other as individuals and others at the same time.

How can I ever counsel in the face of these interdependencies, interactions of large and small systems? But how simple it is, on the other hand, to behave modestly and to be in resonance with people as questioners and listeners and to know that there are no definitive answers, only temporary constructs, in whose cause-effect field I have to find a point of decision.

I think isolation is one of the most devastating sensations a person can experience. Integration into a group is vital. Yes, true what you say. The negative associations we make with an out-group may strengthen the sense of we, but it excludes the human being, who is always looking for a sense of security, recognition and love. Since we never always belong to an in-group alone but are also inevitably outsiders, the painful experience of not always belonging is probably necessary to experience that this does not lead to the destruction of the ego.

It was a pleasure to read this article from you.


P.S. your choice of pictures is always done with much care. Here, I really like the "me/we" design.

Sort:  

This is a very beautiful comment Erika :) There are so many insightful lines here.

I was particularly drawn to your thoughts regarding the simplicity of just being in relation to others, and the environment we are part of. Also, I couldn't agree more with your description of isolation. There is plenty evidence to support this claim, both in human and non-human animals.

Thank you for your nice remark about the images featuring this post. In general, looking for material to illustrate my writings is very time consuming. 😅

I wish you a wonderful weekend :*

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12