You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do lazy students tend to end up being more successful?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Grades in school and university do not correlate with success in life. Nothing new. But there is a major difference between "a lazy" student and a student who is not interested in the trivial subjects studied in institutions like school and university, who is rather busy with his own ideas and projects.
The people you have mentioned, and we all know about, are famous examples but in no way should they be considered as lazy students/ people.
Allow me to disagree on your thesis that lazy students tend to be more successful in life than the hardworking ones. The famous examples you pointed out are nothing but a mere dot in the biggest picture where, as we speak hundreds thousands lazy people are failing in life.
The truth is that hard work and study pays off, when it is intentionally put in action.
There is a lot to debate on this topic. Overall you did a great article. Again :)

Sort:  

but in no way should they be considered as lazy students/ people.

I understand your point and those famous examples are clearly not lazy people, but when it comes to studies they probably were not the teacher's favorites. And yes, they probably had more important things in their minds than investing time to comply with academic requirements.

The famous examples you pointed out are nothing but a mere dot in the biggest picture where, as we speak hundreds thousands lazy people are failing in life.

If a person is lazy in life in general, then that person would have problem finding success. Of course hard work pays off, the subject in question is that there are people who weren't the best students, and still managed to find huge success later in life.

Thanks for sharing your opinion!

'But there is a major difference between "a lazy" student and a student who is not interested in the trivial subjects studied in institutions like school and university, who is rather busy with his own ideas and projects.'
Well said. I haven't read any research on this, but I suspect the people who get the highest marks in school, while being intelligent, also have a desire to follow rules and please others.

but I suspect the people who get the highest marks in school, while being intelligent, also have a desire to follow rules and please others.

I am not sure about that either...

Just an idea based of a few people I know. I'm not too sure myself

Often, subjective observations fail in experiments. But I bet that this idea has already been studied.

:)

I usually remember to keep my faith in my subjective observations nice and low

Also a valid point. Not sure if you see the other reply I made on this post for dedicatedguy . I'm still in minnow mode but learning quickly.

Would love to get your feedback on a few of my articles.

Alright. I will. Thanks for commenting :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82