You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another One Bites the Dust, Vacation Brain and Other Late Night Musings

Haha, I thought the point of a vacation was to turn the old brain off for awhile and just zone out for a bit. Although I suppose practically speaking that might look a lot like mindfulness and living in the moment. So yeah, I’m stumped.

Personally I find that vacations that have me in the “drivers seat” (whether literally as in a road trip or figuratively as in camping) can be quite stressful, as my brain tends to spin faster as I try and react to everything going on. Vacations where I’m a “passenger” (cruise, resort) generally allow me to relax and enjoy the moment. I suppose if/when I really mess up it is during a “passenger” vacation.

Sort:  

To be honest, the only vacations I actually enjoy are when we go back to Denmark every 2-3 years I get to just hang out at one of the summerhouses where I spent a lot of time as a kid... and we basically just sit around, eat, read books, play scrabble and cards... and truly do nothing. That works for me.

Vacations with a "schedule" really aren't all that relaxing for me... usually because it seems like I end up being the one in charge of making sure that people get where they need to go, and on time, and all that good stuff.

Oh yes, I can relate to the stresses of the "leader" role very well. I almost lost my mind trying to make sure my pregnant wife and toddler made it from point A to B to C safe and sound... and on time!

Maybe that's why we all tend to have very fond memories of our childhood trips... not only was someone else paying for it, they were handling all the logistics and the itinerary as well!

Oh, yeah... I think we most definitely wear glasses with pink lenses, when we look backwards. We selectively remember good things... because we didn't have to deal with any of the bad things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61402.08
ETH 3386.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49