The perception of time and how it affects our work, health and well-being.

in #psychology8 years ago (edited)

Newly I acquainted with speech by renowned psychologist Professor Philip Zimbardo. He explains how our individual perspectives of time affect our work, health and well-being.
Also I read the transcript of his speech in Russian.

Image source

I probably hedonist - or I aspire to it. I love when somebody tell me something even without images. I think that living in the present - is the right position, but at that an important factor of success is awareness of my actions and willingness to respond to it in the future.

Image source

That is, the possibility of occurrence of the future can not be ruled out, and every elderly person with its own history is a reminder of this.

Image source

But people who are aspiring to success and are sacrificing everything for the sake of the future, which also may not come or may come otherwise. These people evoke an empathy. Live with confidence to the future - but the confidence can not rely on imaginary wealth and family success - it is a failure.

Image source

Confidence in the future can only rely on the understanding of the harmony of the world and their place in it. In what is above us, and our understanding, but always friendly.

Image source

And I do not want to forget any bad or good events of the past - these events is my experience, the source of the findings and examples, but I can not afford to regret - the present is always better - every day we become more perfect.

Image source

Usually I feel like the future becomes the present, and I feel very much good when the present rightly developing in my life. It is a pity that I did not even have enough strength to always trust, and always to stay at rest, but it's a matter of mind and calm and I will work on myself. Someday I'll come to that.

Image source

Stephen Hawking has an interesting studies of time (but in these studies, of course, less psychology and more physics).

I used materials:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Philip_Zimbardo
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hedonism
http://theoryandpractice.ru/posts/6500-vse-my-nachinaem-zhit-kak-gedonisty-psikholog-filip-zimbardo-o-vospriyatii-vremeni

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36