What's your intention?

in #psychology6 years ago

Recently I came across a saying which I find to be very insightful. It was a Sunday morning and the first routine of my day is to listen to an inspiring talk on my podcast or watch an inspiring youtube. It was then I came across a podcast, an interview with Lisa Nichols.

She is an amazing single mum with challenging circumstances. she overcame personal challenges and obstacles until she became successful. She later shared her powerful insight which states " Don't judge me by my circumstances but by my intention".

It was a aha moment for me, because it made total sense to me as it was true and relevant in my life. The are many times in my own personal life that I have wanted to change and I made it happen because I was so determine and fixated on my intention to do so. One way that I find helpful in my journey in personal change is to keep in sight the vision that I wanted to evolve to.

We often label people by their circumstances and what they do. I think it is not fair to do so. Labeling another person will affect the way we communicate with them . When we call someone irrational , it will affect the way we approach these person when we wanted help. Before we asked , we have already assumed that the other person will response negatively to our request. We should remove all labels in our communication because we tend to prejudge the person response by the label we have invisibly tagged him with.

If you currently overweight and trying to lose some weight, and the result is painfully slow. When you hear people calling you fat, you may feel hurt because at that point in time you are trying your very best to lose the excess weight. People saw the your actual situation but may not be aware of your intention and action. I know because it happen to me. But because I am a little stubborn and have a "don't give a damn" attitude , It did not bothered me that much but rather it fuelled my motivation even further.

SO, the next time you want to change, focus on your intention that is driving you to change instead of looking at your current reality. Have a compelling vision of your future self and keep on reminding yourself of that. And eventually you will succeed.

Sort:  

Congratulation @diamondray! Your post has been recently featured on #TeamMalaysia's Daily Pick Series!

Have a nice day and STEEM to the moon!

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83