My surprising discovery in my old stored away box - Part 1

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)
It is a Sunday morning, I was searching for something to do and so I decided to do a little spring cleaning. There is an untouched box in my store room that have been there for many years. Taking it out and opening it, was like opening a treasure box. I have no recollection of what it content but I do remember it was there at least 8 years ago.

There were old account statements , outdated magazines , all kinds of CD's, but two items in that box caught my attention. One is my body composition reading dated on August 2006 and a little commemorative badge.

Today , I want to share with you about that little badge which meant so much to me now but not then. It is the badge given to me by District 51 Toastmaster governor Joseph Gomez in 2009.

I was then the president of the Labuan toastmaster club 2008/2009. I was a young and ambitious person. That year I also took part in the division public speaking contest and won the runner up prize.

Recently I accomplished one of the most challenging goal that I have set for myself. I wanted to run a full marathon. It required me to push me out of my comfort zone and when I decided to go for it six months ago. It was then an impossible feat as I was not a runner. Six months ago , I hated the thought of running and I was constantly out of breath. Aside from this the many various health condition I had was not anywhere a supporting factor towards my goal.

but I remember a saying that state, "Don't wish it was easier , wish you were stronger". I knew I had to become stronger mentally and physically. As I began to work on my diet and also running pace. It was painfully slow and the only thought that was in my mind was the fear of failing. It was that fear that kept me consistently pushing myself again and again.

Once in doubt, I called the organiser that whether I could down grade my category to half marathon. The lady at the end of the phone line said " We do not allow that , only in event of medical report from the doctor that you are not fit." And she continued " Don't worry , You can do It". As I hung up the phone, I was even more determine and told myself. " I will finish the race no matter what , even if I did not make it within the cut off time".

I completed the race within 5 hours and 31 minutes . I was so relieve that after all the preparation and I finally conquered my doubts. So today, uncovering the badge is a truly meaningful message for me.

Looking back now, I begin to understand that the fear of failure can be a strong motivating force to keep you going. It is all in the attitude you decide to adopt within you. Just stay focus and always work on becoming stronger than the challenge ahead of you. You will definitely succeed and it may not necessarily be the first time but eventually. The most important thing is have the confidence in yourself .

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84