You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ever Wanted to Just Pack Up Your Life and Move Far Far FAR Away?

in #psychology7 years ago

Thanks for your thoughtful comment @shanequick!

Experience tells me that people have numerous different types of motivations for uprooting and seeking new surroundings. Some are simply adventurous spirits while others-- quite literally-- have "addictions" to newness and challenges. Some are "running away" and some are-- more subtly-- just avoiding parts of their reality and life they'd prefer not to face.

In my own experiences, my desires to leave have always been fueled by a (false) hope that things will somehow be "easier" in some other place... fueled by a pervasive sensation that every time I have "given 100%" to something, it has only been rewarded "at 90%," to the point where even getting up in the morning felt like starting at a deficit.

Of course, the thing that was not working was my expectations of "how MUCH life" I could actually manage. Sometimes, the answer to a shortfall isn't increasing your "income," but reducing your "expenses."

Sort:  

I like that... reducing your expenses. Thanks for the advice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56890.04
ETH 2356.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39