Life With ADHD - Concentrating by UN-Concentrating, and Other Stories of Coping

in #psychology7 years ago

I'll be the first to admit that I am not fond of society's many diagnoses for this and that... and especially when it comes to mental health. To be honest, I think we "medicalize" far too many things that simply used to be part of the ordinary spectrum of human experience.

That said, I am also somewhat of a subscriber to the idea that "if the shoe fits," there might at least be something there to learn. So I try to pay attention and pick up anything useful.

Odds are the term "ADHD" is at least somewhat familiar to you, whether you have first-hand experience with it, or not. I've had more truck with it than I typically care to think about-- but here's a small slice of my life.

Not Exactly ADHD

The full phrase for ADHD is "Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder."

Flowers
Hot pink spring flowers

Now, without getting too wrapped up in the "disorder" part, I never paid much attention to this thing because I am definitely NOT "hyperactive," by any stretch of the imagination. It's for this reason I also managed to skate through school without being diagnosed-- I was never fidgety and disruptive; just "dreamy" and tending to fall asleep.

When I think about it, I also really don't have an "attention" deficit-- in fact, I am very good at paying attention. What I have feels more like a concentration deficit.

That particular characterization is more common among people like me... who fit the "inattentive variant" of this particular affliction. However, I started my studies long before such a definition even existed.

Whenever I have to REALLY concentrate, something strange happens.

Flowers
Apple Blossoms

I have been watching myself for a long time-- as a result of many years of practicing meditation-- and so I am pretty familiar with my mind and body states. Specifically, I am good at "observing mental states" and being aware of subtle changes in my mental acuity.

When I find that I "have to" concentrate on something, I can actually feel my body actually shutting down. I can feel brain chemistry (neurotransmitters) going to work... and eight to ten minutes later, my brain and body have received the message that I "have not slept in about four days."

Which, of course, is not true.

Sunset
Zen view at sunset

What's also noteworthy here is that the degree to which I want to sleep is far more intense than merely feeling sleepy and ready for bed at night. It's almost as if I have been drugged. Which, in a sense, I have... as this is basically a "false transmission" of neurotransmitters.

In a neurotypical brain, the result of needing to concentrate would be a small shot of adrenaline perhaps with a side of dopamine, which heightens our senses and makes us able to perform-- however briefly-- at an elevated level. Think of the anxiety/excitement you perhaps have felt before an exam, even if you were extremely well prepared.

But my brain chemistry is mixed up, and instead my brain gets a message that says SLEEP!! NOW!! Almost like my neural net dispensed the wrong chemical.

Needless to Say, That can be Awkward!

I am not big on doctors and living my life through various pharmaceuticals of dubious efficacy.

Leaf
Detail of veins in a leaf

Once I fully understood-- in my 30's-- that something was not quite right, I tried to learn everything I possibly could about this situation. I learned my triggering situations, and how to "lie to my brain" about what was going on. 

Then I started managing this "strangeness" in such a way it doesn't significantly impair my world. We tend to think of things like this as being "for experts," but in most cases WE are the foremost experts on ourselves. It also explains why my life "looks a little different" from most people's.

As those of you who know me well are aware, I have two online eBay based businesses. I am also an avid blogger, including here on Steemit. Last but not least, I am an artist... generally creating small (but complex) pieces of art.

These things all have something in common:

Short Duration

View
Evening view from our back deck

It takes me about 5-6 minutes to photograph the items for an eBay listing. It takes me about 6-8 minutes to create the listing, itself. It takes me about 3-5 minutes to read a post on Steemit and make a meaningful comment. It takes me about 4-5 minutes to finish one "color" on one of my painted mandala stones before setting it aside to dry. Although it takes much longer to write one of these "long form" blog posts, it takes about 6-8 minutes to write a paragraph/subsection... and then move onto something else.

What does that have to do with anything?

What I am telling you is that I can do one of these things and then get up and "task switch" before one of my "sleep attacks" sets in. And yes-- in case you were curious-- I have been tested for narcolepsy and a battery of other sleep disorders!

There is no such thing as "a day's work" in my world. There is "a day" made up of 100-200 separate and distinct tasks, each of which have a beginning, middle and end. 

"What a hassle!" you might be thinking, "why don't you just get some medical help?"

Truthfully? If we were hanging out, odds are you would not even notice anything "unusual" about me! I have 30 years' "experience" living life like this.

The Helping Effect of Music

Although it has not been studied extensively, certain types of music can greatly help my concentration, and seems to boost the duration of my "micro bursts" of activity. 

MacroFlower
At the heart of a flower

I listen to a lot of progressive trance and house which have in common a very set and specific rhythm (counted as bpm/beats per minute-- typically 125-135), which somehow seems to act as an "interrupt," especially when I am writing.

I expect the influence is similar-- from a physiological standpoint-- to the way shamans use very specific drumming patterns for their spirit journeys. 

It might sound like it would be really "frenetic techno" sounding-- actually far from it; much of it is quite peaceful and melodic. And somehow, it helps me concentrate without sending me off to sleep.

So there you have it! That's the end of a small but strange trip down one of my personal rabbit holes!

How about YOU? Do you live with ADHD? Are you familiar with the "inattentive" version of ADHD? Are you getting any sort of treatment-- or are you self-managing? In either case, have you found a way to make life work for you? Have you ever heard of something called "Sluggish Cognitive Tempo (SCT)?" Have you ever thought of ADHD as actually being a Concentration Deficit issue? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180120 23:44 PST

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.21
ETH 2441.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68