Is Your "Contingency Plan" Getting in the Way of Your Success?

in #psychology6 years ago

Having spent more years than I care to think about in — and around — the self-development industry, it has become quite evident to me that the predominant wisdom is that "You succeed at what you give your attention to."

Of course, that makes perfect sense.

What's also often true is that we humans are extremely adept at "getting in our own way."

The Best Laid Plans...

I grew up in a family that treated "being well-prepared" as being next to Godliness. 

Butterfly
Small Tortoiseshell butterfly

Of course, a large part of preparedness was wrapped up in "contingency planning." Whether it was applying for college or starting a business, the inevitable question would be "... and what are you planning to do if that doesn't work out?" Often there would even be a third level "... and what will you do if THAT doesn't work out, as well?" question.

As such, very little was ever done without a "plan B" and a "plan C" fully in place.

Whereas that might sound a bit cumbersome, to my extended family's credit, they were often the ones who could step in and put the pieces back together whenever someone "fell" as a result of "Oh, I didn't think of that...," be it in business, or in life.

Giving the Habit a Face

Some years back, Mrs. Denmarkguy and I were sitting on the back patio with our coffee, talking about "having a plan B" and we gradually realized that we — and quite a few people we've known — have enjoyed relatively little success with our deepest dreams and ambitions because so much of our energies have been given to mapping the "what if" scenarios of life.

Leaf
Red leaf in afternoon sun

After a little bit of analysis, we realized that contingency planning is a great thing... but it can also become an eternal "distraction" that keeps you from ever reaching your goals.

In some ways, this behavior pattern is personified best by the stereotypical "I have to clean and organize my desk so I can do my work" caricature.

And it's surprising how often we do it, and the subtle ways in which we do it... which allows us to stay in a state of total deniability.

"Wait a minute... isn't that just procrastination?"

Well, not exactly. 

90% of procrastination is about creating distractions to avoid something unpleasant, like paying bills or doing taxes. It's not to avoid getting started on painting, writing or something we really love doing.

So Why do we DO That?

In most cases, we come right back to "preparedness" and "worthiness." And, of course, fear

Rowanberry
Rowanberry in bloom

The human psyche can be a strange place.

The mere fact that we are even busy making a "plan B" is a loud signal to our subconscious that we don't actually believe Plan A will work, or — sometimes — that we are worthy of having the benefits of succeeding with Plan A.

So we put all this time and effort into our backup plans to "make sure the backup is damn well going to work" as a result of which Plan A may remain an active dream in our minds, but otherwise is somewhat neglected.

And guess what?

Plan B "damn well does work!" Because that's where most of your focus went! Plan A? Not so much.

Of course, when that happens, it's easy to backslide into "nothing ever works out for me" thinking. Whereas that may be a partially fair statement, the truth is that Plan A never stood a chance. 

Charting a Course Forward

Now, I'm not suggesting that we shouldn't have a backup plan ready for life's major decisions. But we do have to be mindful of where we're putting our energies.

Flowers
Purple flowers in the sun...

When we put too much energy into creating "a soft landing spot" where we can land if one of our dreams goes wrong, odds are we'll NEED that landing spot.

People who enjoy persistent successes tend to keep their eye on the main prize, all the time. When — and IF — they have a fallback plan, it is little more than an envelope tucked away in a drawer. They don't think about it.

So how do you know if you're an excessive backup planner? 

Just observe how you think. If you have a dream — let's say, start a particular home business — ask yourself how many unrelated things you feel "should get done" before you can give serious attention to the dream. If you spend more time thinking about peripheral stuff than the actual business, you may be heading down a wrong path. Same is true if you're eternally "gathering more information," rather getting started on your dream. 

Keep in mind that this is not something everybody struggles with! In fact, it most likely only applies to about 30-40% of the population. 

But that's still enough potentially lost dreams to warrant being discussed!

How About YOU? Are you a contingency planner? Do you find that you can rarely make a major life decision without first creating a solid fallback plan? Is your "Plan B" important to you? Have you found it difficult to reach what you feel are your "most important" goals? What do you feel stands in your way? Have you ever felt like you get in your OWN way? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!


created by @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180519 15:23 PDT

Sort:  

I think a LOT of peoples contingency plan gets in the way. Because somehow "plan B" seems to take up 95% of the time and energy, even when it shouldnt. Its nice to have some security, but what good is being well-prepared if you think your life is boring? Being well-prepared is only good if it comes along with some base of happiness.

I'm a big believer in only going for gold medal dreams, not silver medal. I like how Warren Buffet put it, when he said to call the five things you want most your "to do list" and the rest of your dreams/desires become the "not to do list." two list strategy

or as Derek Sivers puts it, "hell yeah or no"

man you've provoked my own brain on this topic, I may need to write about contingency plans in a full-length post myself.

Yeah, it can be a weird dynamic.

There's the whole "I'll do the thing that REALLY matters once I've gotten X, Y and Z out of the way" thing which can be hard to get past. My rationale in the past was always "I won't be able to give the main event my full attention with these little irritants hanging over my head."

Most of the time, that's bogus. Excuses. Rationalizations. Ways to not commit fully.

I've gotten to the point where "a good contingency plan" is having a couple of month's living expenses in savings so you can work out Plan B, if you actually NEED plan B. In a sense, Steemit is an awesome de-procrastinator. If everything goes to hell, I can power down till Plan B is running.

I'm at the edge of that, right now... just going to work on art and writing full time.

I like the Warren Buffett approach. I think we've all been (mis)conditioned by the idea that "we can have it ALL." Perhaps we can, but that doesn't mean it's the right thing to strive for. I'd rather have a few things really well than everything in a mediocre way.

oh i'm such a hedger- i feel you there! this is a really interesting concept that by focusing on Plan B we're feeding it and sending "mixed messages" as it were, to our inner and outer universes! so interesting! you've given me something to think about. i definitely like to be prepared and think things through on many levels before i commit myself. have to strike that proper balance!

and yes, i've felt that i get in "my own way"-- even that my standards get in my own way! to simplify it, as a virgo, this can be one of my traits. my partner ini, who is a pisces, has a much easier time "just doing it" or even just starting than i do. he's taught himself to build buildings (with little to no experience) by just diving in- something my virgo nature would find very difficult!! it's a relief learning that "i don't have to get it right" the first time and that mistakes are just stepping stones and learning opps.

Ah, another Virgo! My wife says we're "the WORST" at this sort of stuff; eternally sorting out all the peripheral bits "in preparation" for the main gig.

It becomes a self-perpetuating circle. We overplan contingencies out of uncertainly over success; the uncertainty leads to fewer successes, leading us to overplan contingencies because we usually don't succeed... because we put too much time/effort into the contingencies. Yadda, yadda...

My wife is a Gemini... easier for her to go "all in," but then she does that "twins" thing and suddenly goes "all OUT" in mid stream, simply because a blade of grass crossed her path. We work pretty well, though... she's a great "starter" and I'm a good "follower-upper" on other people's initiatives.

I think Virgos struggle with perfectionism, on top of everything else. Our tasks are further put off by the fact that we don't want to tackle "Plan A" until we're SURE we can do it really well.

hahah so much resonance here. we definitely can struggle with perfectionism- something i've tried to counterbalance by borrowing a popular slogan and just doing it!

Our tasks are further put off by the fact that we don't want to tackle "Plan A" until we're SURE we can do it really well.

this is really the crux- this fixation on just doing everything really well. it may be impossible, frankly, and the rest of the world doesn't operate that way. we see far too much success by people who haven't done that great of a job! haha.. i too am a good follower upper. my pisces partner, who has trouble finishing things, can attest to that. good to know you're a virgo- perhaps accounts for much of the YES! feeling i get when i read your posts (and the perfect formatting and photos ;) lol).

Mine is probably exacerbated by having grown up with a father who taught "If something is worth doing, it's worth doing WELL — always do your best." As a result, I have an inherent... fear(?)... of being identified with what i consider "sloppy" work.

Of course, most of the world doesn't give a rat's hind end; they are just delighted that I did something... so they didn't have to.

Yeah, I'm kinda anal about making my posts look "pretty;" a bit of a hangover from the early days of personal websites build on GeoCities that looked like a roadkill of text and blinking things. Agghhh!

hahaha hilarious about the GeoCities websites! and eeeek! i was told that too!

"If something is worth doing, it's worth doing WELL — always do your best."

well I certainly enjoy your anally pretty posts ;)

I think I fall in the category of either not believing I’m capable of achieving my dreams, or not worthy of achieving them. It might seem odd that I say, I think, but it’s such a deep seeded feeling that it’s hard to recognize.

I’ve never been a contingency planner, and I’ve always sort of pursued my dreams, but at some point I always take a side road that leads away from my dream, or I just give up. Often I find myself giving into the excuse of, well I have to do this for now because of A, B, or C.

I feel like getting older has helped in some ways. Perhaps that’s because I’m finally learning what it means to actually plan and act in a way that leads to a goal rather than just dream (or think magically).

Yeah, I understand that we're sometimes working with subtle subtexts... for example, I've always wanted to dedicate more time to art and creativity. Historically, though, I have backed away from that with the excuse that... even though I know I am quite good at what I do, "people rarely BUY art; it's a luxury — and I can't justify doing it unless it's income producing."

Sounds like a variation of what you're describing... "there's always a reason, and always something more important."

Reading @heymattsokol's comment (up top) and particularly his link to Warren Buffett's approach... reminded me that a lot of our "peripheral busy-work" really belongs on a "do NOT do list."

I'm getting better with age, too...

I like the idea of a “do Not list”. I’ll have to give that a try over the next few mornings and weeks. It’ll be interesting to see what stays on it.

I’ve been becoming more and more intrigued by Warren Buffet recently. I used to just assume that he didn’t have any advice for me and my situation. Lately, though, his quotes and advice have been finding their way to me a lot and I’ve been finding myself thinking, Why didn’t I start paying attention to this guy years ago?

In some cases I do think contingency plans do work, but it comes down to you and how you view the job at hand and the amount of importance you give it.

The second part is the key there: "the amount of importance you give it."

A lot of people give it far too much importance — I have been among them — and end up spending so much time building their "safety net" that they never get around to their main event.

Meow! excellent post, for me it is simple my plan A is to eat and my plan B is to sleep. Great plans, right?

As a cat @sirgatodaniel, I think you have the perfect approach to life!

Very appreciable write it is @denmarkguy
Every work need some proper planning . without planning i little work will be a huge load .
Success is a goal to achieve by proper commitment and proper planning.

Are you a contingency planner?

Not really, although I have a tendency to think things over a over, not to make a plan, but to avoid doing things I feel uneasy about doing. I live in a country where you have very little control over your economy or your time, making "planning" very stressing and futile, so "winging it" is almost the only alternative you have. I do, nonetheless, try to have some "leg room" in my credit cards and or bank account (to the extents of my possibility) to be able to get out of immediate chasms.

Do you find that you can rarely make a major life decision without first creating a solid fallback plan?

Nope. I know people will hate reading this, but I think life will take you in whatever direction it wants regardless of your plans. I read somehow that "being teh architect of one's destiny" is a western, Christian, middle-class construct. There are so many important variables that one doesn't control. We have to be grateful for the opportunities we have and not judge other people failures. I've achieved some very good things in life, but I do not take credit for any of those.

Is your "Plan B" important to you?

One shouldn't begin a road trip without a spare tire. One must not risk life of risk valuable possessions unnecessarily. Is that a "plan B"?

Have you found it difficult to reach what you feel are your "most important" goals?

Yes, as I said before, I've achieved some important goals in life. Some of them have been easy, others have cost me a lot of effort, but I don't take credit neither for the former of the latter. In this very moment in Venezuela even getting antibiotics or buying a replacement car battery involves a lot of effort and time.

What do you feel stands in your way?

Communism.

Have you ever felt like you get in your OWN way?

Yes. I often paralyze under pressure when taking financial decisions and end up taking no decision at all. It doesn't happen every time, but has happened e a lot.

Beautiful looking this animals photography, I appreciate your planing...... best of luck

Your posts are very interesting

great post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84