Human Nature, Psychobabble and Credentials

in #psychology7 years ago

The vast majority of my writing over the past 25 years has essentially been in the form of some kind of psychobabble. 

Since my teen years, I have been interested in the study of human motivations, psychology, personality typologies, Jungian archetypes, matters of the spirit and more.

MorningGlory
Morning Glories... basically, weeds

I'd like to think that I've offered a few insights to people along the way... maybe even guided a life or two in a more positive direction.

Of course, I am not a trained therapist, nor do I own a PhD in psychology, psychiatry or social work. In fact, I come by all my psychobabble through the simple observation of-- and interaction with-- the human condition. 

There's a funny dichotomy involved in writing commentary about the human mind, spirit and the things that drive many people towards some version of personal growth and eventual self-actualization: Even though a good number of people seem to find the words both helpful and interesting, my writings on the things that motivate us and make us tick are barely even "blog worthy," as serious writing. And they are certainly not publishable as "articles," since I am chronically undercredentialed, in such a context. 

How "dare" I have an opinion (insightful, or otherwise) if I don't have the right set of initials and acronyms to put behind my name?

In terms of sheer volume, I have probably written the equivalent of about six 300-page books on the topics of finding peace within oneself, and on the dynamics and interactions in relationships-- from friendships, to family, to work, to love. With the exception of a handful of e-zines and limited circulation newsletters, none of this body of information has ever found its way into print. I'd love to say that it's because my opinions are "unpopular," "uninteresting" or something like that-- but the deeper truth is that I am just "a guy with an opinion," but no education to validate that opinion. 

YellowFlower
A flowering weed in the desert

Of course, some of my opinions are unpopular, because I tend to have little hesitation in taking the psychological establishment to task over its often myopic viewpoint of How Things Work

But I can hardly be taken seriously, because I am not DOCTOR So-and-so.

Lest this sounds like I am poking around at the edges of a pity party, let me assure you I am not. I am just sort of musing out loud, and pondering the strange fact that our world is often more concerned about "proper credentials" than about actual insight and wisdom.

I am not alone.

Mrs. Denmarkguy used to work in the corporate offices of a major nationwide US bank. Through a slip-up or exception, she ended up working shoulder to shoulder with a bunch of Ivy League MBAs... she without completing even her community college associates degree. Within not many months, she was not only the top performer in her division, but her monthly bonus/incentive checks were 150% or more above her base salary... after which the compensation structure of the entire division was suddenly "redesigned." Subsequently, she was "let go" on some technicality, but friends inside the organization leaked that she was let go because she was making the Ivy Leaguers "feel stupid and inadequate." 

I'm sure they would have admired her greatly, had she done the exact same thing, while in possession of a Harvard MBA.

Columbine
Purple Columbines

I had a similar experience, as a contract worker for a large company designing computer adaptive skills and aptitude tests for potential new hires in a wide range of fields. I ended up "back burnered" as a contractor because the ocean of PhD's and MBA's with whom I worked evidently didn't like that I could design and solve in days, problems that took them months to figure out. 

Twelve years later, some of my processes are still in place. I know. I've crept on them...

Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't want the village butcher to perform neurosurgery on my head... unless he had the proper credentials. But when we're dealing with the realm of ideas, do they automatically become invalid, absent an expensive university education?

Society's (and employers') obsession with--and expectations of-- the proper "window dressing" of life is one of the reasons my wife and I live somewhat outside the mainstream of society, where can apply functional sense and solutions to life, rather than get trapped in intellectual posturing and pissing contests.

How about YOU? Ever had to deal with awkward situations because you were "undercredentialled?" Does it seem like much of the world overvalues educational proof over functional ability and actual experience?

Sort:  

Hello @denmarkguy,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to not receive comments from SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32