Anger as a Catalyst for Change

in #psychology7 years ago

A lot of people dismiss anger as "bad;" a negative and destructive emotion. When someone gets angry, they shy away and start mumbling about "anger management," and often avoid engaging.

Fuchsia
Blooming Fuchsia, Washington State

For the longest time, my father (whom, in retrospect, was a bit of a rage-aholic) was my model for anger... a model that involved thunderous roars at the top of his lungs, the flinging of objects and occasionally the destruction of furniture. 

A lot of other people embrace anger, saying it's "a natural part of being human." I have even met couples who claimed they would lose interest in their relationship if they didn't "have a good fight 3-4 times a week."

But what is anger, really? 

Regardless of whether we fall on the "good" or "bad" side of the equation-- or whether those descriptors are even relevant-- what does anger teach us?

As best I can tell, anger is simply the body's "alert system" to let us know that something is happening that is significantly out of alignment with how we were hoping/planning the outcome of a situation to be. When we feel anger, it is usually because some kind of inner boundary has been overstepped... and we suddenly realize that this is NOT what we want.

Flowers
Yellow flowers... not sure what kind

There is little doubt that unchecked explosive unfocused anger can be very destructive. And to a young child like I was... also very frightening.

One of the things I learned from my father's anger was the difference between fear and respect. 

He always defended his volatile temper by pointing out that people "respected him." I was pretty observant... and what I saw in those around him was not respect... but fear

The Positive Side of Anger

I avoided anger for many years, often sidestepping and avoiding detrimental situations in which feeling-- and expressing-- anger would have been well justified. But I just didn't want anything to do with been even slightly like the explosive out-of-control volcano I grew up with.

Sunset
Northern sunset

It took me a lot of serious self-inquiry-- and some years in psychotherapy-- to learn that anger didn't have to "look like" screaming at the top of your lungs and throwing chairs at the wall. 

In its positive expression, anger is merely a "call to action;" a message that we need to step up and do something to remedy a situation that is not how we want it to be; something that has overstepped boundaries that should not be crossed. But action doesn't have to mean "a violent outburst," as many of those who are conflict avoidant seem to believe it "has to" be. 

Anger can simply be channeled and expressed as action and determination, without harming others in the process.

There is no need to throw stuff, or break chairs over people's heads!

I would be exaggerating if I claimed that I have made anger my "friend." But at least we're not enemies anymore, and I have learned to pause and listen, when I feel things come towards a boil, inside me.

How about YOU? How is your relationship with anger? Do you have a short temper, or do you tend to bottle things up, inside? Do you have ways to constructively channel your anger, and use it to make changes? Or does anger feel more like "shouting into the wind?" Leave a comment and share your experience-- start the dialogue!

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise specified. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)

Sort:  

I was a really easy to get angry person for long years. But then I met my husband who's a really calm person, ans who can transform his anger to positive action most times. In fact 7 years we are together, and I remember all the situations whe I saw him really angry. It was three times, and I still think I'm lucky it wasn't me who caused that. It was so scary. No screaming or throwing anything, but scary.
As for me - I suddenly realised that I spend too much of my personal psy resorces on anger, especially when this emotion was caused by something I can't change. So I studyed how to control myself and put this energy somewhere else. I manage with this in 90% cases, and it really works:) I also try to avoid situations and people that can ruin my inner "dzen":)

Yes, that is an important lesson-- spending a lot of energy on being angry at things we can do absolutely nothing about easily leads to stress and resentments. And yes, avoiding the people who always seem to push our "hot buttons" is also a valuable thing!

It really is! But I still have some people in my life I just can't avoid communicating. And they're exactly that kind who tryes to "get to my bones" just for fun. The psychologist advised me the book "Psychological Aikido". The bottom line is that you agree with the person, sometimes leading the situation to the point of absurdity. I'm still learning this, and it's pretty funny :)

Some things are worthy of anger: murder, rape, abuse, theft, fraud, and other violations of others should provoke anger. It is up to us to channel that anger into productive responses as you mentioned.

Like many things... do we choose to respond or react? It's the reactivity that quickly becomes very destructive and damaging.

I am not bothered by people venting and raging. However, in my close personal life I do not surround myself with those people.

I guess for me, my dad was just a scary enough "model" that I just avoided anger at all costs for many years... fearing that I would heap the same destructive energy on others that he did... but I was always sensitive to "forceful" personalities. Ironically, I had a 10+ year relationship with someone of a similar temperament as my dad... funny, how we do stuff like that...

I had a volatile Mom, my first serious relationship was also extremely similar to her. There is a very interesting book about that called, "Getting The Love You Want", by Harville Hendrix, Ph.D. It is an excellent read.

It's good to see someone writing this. That is , that anger is not necessarily bad , and that anger is not the same as violence. It is merely an emotion , part of the human condition. Part of what makes us human. And like most things, it can be used for good or bad. Or , i suppose , a better way to say it would be that it can be used as a catalyst for doing something good or bad , and not that anger itself is good or bad , negative or positive. Anger can motivate us to do great ... or terrible things. And taking that away , or suppressing it would be denying part of what makes us human.
Thanks for posting this. :)
P.S. I see in my comment now that i have basically just repeated what you posted. (Sorry). It would have probably been more appropriate to just say 'Agreed' . Anyways , I've had similar experiences with anger , so I can relate quite well to what you are saying. And just as a side note , just to be clear I wouldn't suggest being in a state of anger just for the sake of it. As in "having a good fight (argument) 3-4 times a week". Yeah not so sure about that one , that sounds more like they enjoy being angry.

Que lindas fotos

Insightful and nice photos too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50