You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you consider yourself beautiful? □ Yes □ No

in #psychology8 years ago

This happened in literature class. I looked at the scribbled notebook page of my school desk neighbor. Among the painted flowers adorned the inscription: "I am beautiful. I am the most beautiful". Small and capital letters. 20 times or more. And then I realized that I never said such words to myself. But my neighbor has filled her entire notebook with these phrases.

I analyzed her personal life and the confidence in her beauty and saw a connection. She was a very popular girl in our school. Many cool guys fought for her heart. I also really wanted to have fans, and I realized that my weak point is the lack of confidence in my own beauty. In other words, I had to decide - I am beautiful or not.

The girl sounds like she was dealing with serious self-doubt. You don't write "I am beautiful, I am the most beautiful" twenty times in large and small text because you're confident. When you are confident about something, the fact becomes something you take entirely for granted. Now that doesn't mean that the people dealing with self doubt do not have the qualities they fear they lack, it sounds like this girl was in fact very attractive from the way you describe her, but I find it really strange that you take a sign of self-doubt and read it as a sign of confidence.

Sort:  

Yes, you're right. Now I can understand what you said. And I'm glad to see people here that are so deep. I agree with you, when a man believes in his beauty, he won't write everywhere how good he is.

Yes I think you got it right. She is probably righting it down as an exercise to convince herself that it was true.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43