How does our imagination affects our mind?

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Introduction


On more than one occasion I am sure we have all heard about the close relation between having a remarkable sense of imagination, even genius like, and having mental disorders. Many great exponents of different arts such as painting, literature or poetry have been known to have manifestations of different mental issues.

When we talk about several types of art such as painting or sculpture, reference is usually made to issues related to the psyche, in which there is a break with reality (said rupture being the one that facilitates the creation of something new). In the case of extreme sadness and even depression, they seem to be a linked with a good sense of imagination and the development of incredible works of arts.

A famous and historic example is of course the great artist Vincent van Gogh and his famous severed hear, which is something that couldn’t have happened if he was of sound mind. No healthy person would cut off his own hear, although I suppose this can be open for discussion.

How do you think this issue can affect people's psyche?

Sort:  

My chief supervisor once said this to me after I apologize for crying really hard, "I understand. You're an artist." It doesn't make sense to me at all but after reading this one it does make sense after all. Thank you for sharing this wonderful and informative blog.

Thank you for sharing this wonderful and informative blog.

I am glad you enjoyed the post, and I appreciate the fact that you shared that experience you had with the supervisor.

A very beautiful presentation! Qurite

Thanks for your kind words!

Hmm... Making emotion evident on a painting is not something easily achievable. I know how to draw but making someone feel emotional with my painting is something exceptional and tasking. It's a different thing to make people emotional, also a different thing to change them with what you paint...

Making emotion evident on a painting is not something easily achievable. I know how to draw but making someone feel emotional with my painting is something exceptional and tasking

It surely is not an easy skill to develop. Although art is meant to communicate a message don't you agree?

I love this post . Creativity needs to be groomed esle it would die in isolation of not utilising it , at age 16 I was already making big waves in designing my own jet engine, I left the project for 5 months and everything died down. Thats how I knew that for someone to maintain its creativity such a person should seize all the opportunity that comes around!
Steem your way to power greatness and glory!
640-Formula-One-l.jpg

at age 16 I was already making big waves in designing my own jet engine

That is impressive, why did you leave the project?

The project was suspended because of lack of funds and I was not having the will-power to finish it.

This is such a well-written piece. I have always been drawn to artists who are a bit different mentally and emotionally.

This is such a well-written piece

Thanks mate.

I have always been drawn to artists who are a bit different mentally and emotionally.

Why do you think that is?

I think it has a lot to do with the some of the things you mentioned in your post. I feel the closer they are to the border of creativity/insanity the more in tune they are with greatness. Unfortunately, this causes them to suffer more mentally and emotionally. Just a theory..lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44