You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creativity and Psychology

in #psychology6 years ago

You might be right, we put too much attention towards things that are merely entertainment. And I agree with this:

put scientists, inventors, creators on the cover of popular culture magazines and websites

I think we should really admire the people that drive our race forward, the ones that are building the future and researching technologies that will change our lives big time (big-C type of creativity, as mentioned in the post).

In my case I have always been excited by news about technology. It was later in my life that I realize technology is the only way in which we can thrive in the long term, that's why I consider myself a " Technology enthusiast".

About the pop culture, it can be fun for a while, I mean, who doesn't enjoy seeing some good actions movies from time to time, but there are certainly much more important things, that deserve more attention and more support from the general public.

This is also reason why depression and mental health is high, many people determine their life by followers, likes, messages received and other false values

Perhaps, although there are a lot of famous people, with tons of likes and followers who are depressed as well, so the reason for this must be something else.

ban social media counters, ban addiction loops from software

This sounded a little bit too extreme. I believe in freedom, so I don't think banning something will fix anything. I think if we voluntarily start to focus on more important things, eventually everything starts to change little by little. In order to achieve big changes we need to start with something small, so first ourselves and then our family, what comes next is out of our control.

In my case, I do admire people like Mush or Neil Degrasse Tyson much more than a random actor or singer...

Sort:  

Sorry, I didn’t mean ban social media, just the follower counters, like counters et al. It is the measurement which I would ban not social media itself. As a tool it has uses.

All right, although if some sites wish to have followers numbers they should be free to do so don't you think?

For the betterment of peoples mental health, no I think it should be banned. Yet, we just have a difference of opinion on that. Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64951.20
ETH 3557.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35