You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Reasons Why Kids Shouldn't Watch Harry Potter

in #psychology7 years ago

Hmm, very interesting argument. I definitely agree with a lot of points made here. However, I've seen quite a few children grow up with the HP series and the only psychological effects I've seen are increased creativity and wonder. I dont see any reason why the series is much worse than other mainstream stories that water down concepts like consumerism, competition and division, and present them to children. These themes are so pertinent in the world that kids will become accustomed to them with or without HP. Thanks for sharing though, this one really made me think, followed!

Sort:  

Thanks for a comment.
Your argument is anecdotal. There may be multitude of different factors that have contributed to their ability to wonder and be creative. And many that hinder it.
Yes there are many other movies like this. The thing is that just because society is sick and full of such information does not make it justified and correct, and does not excuse letting children to be submitted to it.
And yes, in current society it seems impossible to completely protect children from that bullshit but we should do our best.

I definitely agree, i just wouldnt pin all the blame on one particular series. It's more of the entire western mindset that is corrupting children today. Have you seen any of the movies from the Japanese Studio Ghibli? Essentially a more conscious minded and wholesome equivalent to Disney movies. I always try and promote them as much as I can in the hopes of raising a generation that can transcend the idiocracy of the current institutions.

I've been rewatching them recently.

They're MUCH better in terms of teaching moral lessons than nearly every western movie, that's for sure.

Thanks I will look into it! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58075.38
ETH 2463.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38