Objectification

in #psychology8 years ago

Hey Steemers,

I'm feeling feisty. I'd like to expand upon a topic that truly infuriates me: objectification. I am choosing to speak to this because of the insidious ways it lurks in our society.


The bottom line is this: female bodies are not objects to be evaluated by arbitrary standards. They are vessels that house human souls. There is no body that "invites" comments or criticism, regardless of how its inhabitant chooses to present it. I don't care if a woman is strolling the streets in a thong or a onesie- if she doesn't ask for your input and you don't know her, keep your mouth shut. Offering an opinion suggests that you have some right to do so. You do not. She does not exist to please you.

This has come up for me recently because of several encounters. The most recent two occurred within fifteen minutes of each other, at an orientation to my current job. On the first day of a week- long orientation, I was approached by two different men. The first inquired if I competed in bikini competitions, and upon hearing that I did not, told me that it was a waste not to. He repeated the opinion several times that day. The second asked me if I was a fitness instructor, and commented on specific parts of my body.

I will acknowledge that these men probably had good intentions. I'm sure that they meant to compliment and flatter me, but it was profoundly uncomfortable. Each interaction involved the scrutiny of these men; I watched their eyes unabashedly scan my physique. I did not feel flattered. I felt vulnerable and gross, as if I had invited the attention. I questioned my wardrobe choices and professionalism. This was the first thing either of these men said to me- that is unacceptable.

The thing is this. As humans, we encode and internalize the messages we receive. When women are treated as sex objects, we begin to assign disproportionate value to our external appearance. We kill ourselves to fit beauty standards, and get a thrill when others notice. Creepy, unsolicited flattery becomes normalized and women are put in the position of constantly trying to please. Eating disorders run rampant through our society, and are beginning to occur in an ever- younger population. I have never received more compliments than when I was stuck in the deepest trench of my anorexia.

Female bodies are gorgeous things, homes to unique souls. They come in a multitude of forms, shapes, colors, adornments... and none is more legitimate than another. Every existence is worthy of thriving; each human deserves celebrate their vessel of inhabitance. Let's honor each other, and do so respectfully.

Sort:  

Agreed... I must confess that there's a whole mindset of human beings I don't like very much. Even though I'm (obviously!) "a guy" I have actually experienced this up close, in a sense... my former brother-in-law was a firefighter, and good looking to boot... and we'd go out places and he'd be wearing this fire dept. sweatshirt.... and he stopped being "John" and became "a hot fireman" to a bunch of women would fawn all over him... other rather, the "image" of what they felt a fireman was.

I have seen this happen to guy friends of mine as well! I apologize if it seemed like I was excluding this perspective- I only meant to speak to what I can personally identify with. But I absolutely agree that this happens across the board, and that it's pretty dehumanizing for those at the receiving end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48