Imposition

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Imposition

original poetry


tree-2451441_1920.jpg


milky-way-2695569_1920 (3).jpg
Reading notes: I feel a little background is necessary here. This poem's theme is compartmentalization, especially as it pertains to the "quest for Truth." It discusses how, in our fear of the grotesque, disturbing, and difficult aspects of reality, we destroy our ability to dwell in perfection and wholeness. It also has to do with hiding away from and condemning "other people" for barbaric acts and qualities instead of taking personal responsibility for all aspects of one's existence. Usually, I prefer to not provide reading notes, but as this piece is a bit darker (and as the irrational fear of the dark is very prevalent in western society) I thought it compassionate to provide some context. In the future I may or may not do this on similar pieces. Please weigh in with a comment below and let me know!milky-way-2695569_1920 (4).jpg


shadow-tree-2798488_1920.jpg


milky-way-2695569_1920 (7).jpg


Stares of the others
Were felt until they
Covered my tongue,
.
Smothered by fur,
Halfhearted humanoids
Ravenous with desire.
.
Crust of knowledge
Was my hideout from
Barbaric sensations.
.
Through pursuit of peace
I ran the race of horror;
I sought escape in bright shadow
& was handicapped by error.
.
The vile state of affairs
I could not face was
A glorious rose.
.
The bloodshed I condemned
Resounded chimes &
Starry hymns.
.
In the darkest of the dark,
In the hell I would not hark,
In the suffering that I fled,
I killed all wholeness in my head.


milky-way-2695569_1920 (4).jpg


lake-2254240_1920.jpg


milky-way-2695569_1920 (1).jpgmilky-way-2695569_1920 (5).jpg

Written by
@d-pend
11/14/17

Photos are
Free domain.

milky-way-2695569_1920 (6).jpgmilky-way-2695569_1920 (2).jpg


milky-way-2695569_1920.jpg


Sort:  

Hi @d-pend. I upvote your poems daily, primarily because I know you put a lot of effort into them. I OFTEN don't have the time/energy to read through them all fully, but I also find your style to be a bit abstract (which is FINE), which is another factor which makes it challenging to digest the poems. However, on two recent ocassion (this one and the one where you examined an element of poetry) I found it more easy to EXTRACT some more tangible meaning from the posts. I am NOT criticizing your poetry, or style, (as it is clear that MANY people respond positively to it), but just giving you my personal take. SOME of your poems - and SOME PARTS of SOME of your poems -- have been more easy for me to assimilate, so hopefully this HONEST feedback will help you get a better sense of how your art is resonating with people. Ultimately, though, keep it up...

Hi @transcript-junky, your feedback and honesty is very refreshing and helpful for me. I appreciate your support and for taking the time to pen this note. Will definitely keep it in mind moving forwards! Thank you.

P.S. What you mentioned about not having the time and energy to read everything is a pervasive dilemna on Steemit. Partially because we have so many creators, and not many curators. Also, because they changed the curation split to 25%/75% it is no longer very profitable to curate other's content. I would like to see this change in the future.

I agree. There needs to be more people curating and critiquing so that all of the creators can become more familiar with what their audience wants. I love your poem. I can’t say I completely understand every aspect of it and that’s ok because I know that will be up to interpretation ultimately. I do appreciate the note first. I often wonder where an idea came from or what the author was thinking about as they created. For me, personally, it gave me the background I needed to set the scene. I loved it. I may dabble in trying it out myself from time to time. Thank you so much for sharing! I am following :)

Yes, the background is very helpful to give the reader some structure. Also, perhaps a bit SHORTER poems would be more digestible as well. I have found the poems which go down only ONE photo to be most manageable. When I scroll down to find another large CHUNK of text it feels a bit exhausting (for the reasons mentioned in my last comment). Also, your recent hip-hop lyrics post was very good because it has the music to add some structure...

I liked reading your background thoughts here. The poem indeed is a powerful illustration of the demise of humankind. I think there is still hope though ;) Your talent truly shines here!

Great, thanks for the feedback and the encouraging words @tinajordan :)

Good to discover your work, d-pend, and sensing an affinity with my own - also concerned with healing and transformation. Trust in longing to sing itself... Wishing you breakthroughs, new friend, on the page and off _/|_

Thank you so much my friend, keep on going!!! Will be looking out for your stuff in the future.

Your words are in the right place and at the right time. Poetry confirms your spiritual breadth, your pure heart and your cosmic vibrations. Thank you for this kind of support @d-pend

definitely got the dark undertones... I know that poetry can bring different visualizations to different people- for me , I found fascinating about it was that from the start I thought of the tree of life..., human error, deceit and despair....how interesting so that you write about knowledge almost being your shield...

I am glad that I checked in :]
... and also glad to see you doing so well :]

I appreciated the preface.

increíble amigo, si tienes talento! hay va mi voto
:D

Good lyrics poetry

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by d-pend from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Gorgeous poems !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62