You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if we are fighting because we want the same thing?

in #psychology7 years ago

I’m not in the middle of that today, but I feel your pain. I too often struggle to apply what I know about adults and conflict to situations with my kids. It’s like they are little aliens sent here to question everything we think we know! I agree that often conflict is between two people who actually want the same thing. I teach this as a nifty BS meter that is always helpful to consider before putting too much thought into our conflict. If we both have the same goal, then the conflict is usually on the absurd side of the continuum, since it really doesn’t require much negotiation or compromise. Instead, we “just” need to figure out why we have some predisposed assumption of conflict. With adults, that’s fairly straightforward but sometimes my kids really just want to bicker for the sake of it. Sometimes I wonder if it’s technically a form of play. I definitely try to pick my battles and just let them go when I can stand it. I hope your morning gets more pleasant! You can doooo it :)

Sort:  

Aliens questioning everything we know! Yes! And I also wonder if the bickering is technically a form of play. My morning straightened out, although I didn't get to do all the writing I hoped to. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60265.23
ETH 2324.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55