You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Your Mind Palace

in #psychology7 years ago

Well done. I’m looking forward to the series. I teach courses in human communication and therefore always have to include a segment on perception. This fits in well with that. Perception is the foundation of all our communication and therefore it essential to understand how it works if one wants to become a more competent communicator.

Sort:  

Thanks! Ultimately this becomes a communication issue to me as well. What got me started on this was the election and trying to understand how to structure a message that could break though to people who seem to reject fact.

I forgot to mention that this week I’m showing Central Park Five to two of my classes. It’s a great example of people continuing to believe what they’ve decided is true even when significant evidence the contrary emerges. If you haven’t seen it I highly recommend it. Ken Burns at his best.

I'll have to sake a look at some point. I'm from NYC so I'm pretty familiar with the case. Also Trump still believes they were guilty so again, all anyone should have needed to know about the guy...

https://www.nytimes.com/2016/10/18/opinion/why-trump-doubled-down-on-the-central-park-five.html

Yup. He's in the film, which causes a communal groan from the students. He took out a full page ad in three NY newspapers calling for the death penalty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56